We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another enjoyable visit”

Canterbury Roman Museum
Ranked #14 of 108 things to do in Canterbury
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Canterbury Roman Museum’s story began on what appeared to be a rather unremarkable day in 1868. When workmen, digging trenches for a new drainage system, reached eight feet below street level they unwittingly unearthed a beautifully preserved Roman floor mosaic. Fast-forward to the aftermath of the Second World War, when excavations began under the cellars of shops destroyed by bombing, and another startling discovery was made. Archaeologists had just revealed an under-floor heating system, wall paintings, and a dazzling mosaic corridor. The site was no longer an isolated floor mosaic, but the remains of a very large, and no doubt very costly, Roman Town House. Over time a museum arose to encompass the remains and preserve what is now known to be one of the UK’s only remaining in situ Roman pavement mosaics and a Scheduled Ancient Monument. Canterbury Roman Museum is Kent’s only Roman Museum; providing a fascinating and family-friendly insight into life in Roman Britain. Visitors can explore Canterbury’s history, wander through the marketplace and discover hidden treasures as they step back, and down, to the streets of Roman Canterbury…
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Another enjoyable visit”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

This again was another Museum of interest. The Romans clearly had a vast knowledge of construction and lived a clean and healthy life when they weren't killing Britons!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bradders829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    123
    63
    15
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
virginia
Level Contributor
468 reviews
214 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“We thought it was well-done”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Small museum but it makes the most of recreations of shops, clothing, products, weapons, etc. that brings it all to life. We've been to Pompeii and Italy in general. We didn't expect much, but it was pretty decent. Armor and costumes for the kids to try.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank yahootraveler64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca, South Carolina
Level Contributor
249 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Ordinary, quiet, somewhat educational - would be good if it's raining...”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

Everything was very clean and well displayed. The price was £8 ($12.80 U.S. at the exchange rate in September 2013) so I was a little disappointed. This sort of display is not my kind of thing - looking through glass cabinets, etc. The neatest things were the mosaic and the Roman floor. If you want to see it all again - it is laid out in a loop and you may go around a second time or more. Staff was friendly.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A step back in time”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

Given the concentration on the religious historical background of the city it is hard to remember other eras... this is a brilliant reminder!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kalamity K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very new, nothing out of the ordinary”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

After we finally found the museum (could see the signs and could see it on the Smartphone, but we just couldn't find it!), we found the staff extremely welcoming and friendly. It is well laid out, very clean (which is why I am assuming it is new) but honestly not a lot of hands on stuff (which we are used to at other Roman museums) or even a trail for the children to do to engage them more. The dressing up section at the end was good - luckily it wasn't busy otherwise it would have been a tight squeeze. You could go around the museum as many times as you liked, which was good, some of the exhibits were very interesting but I just have the feeling that it is lacking 'something'. We went around the museum in well under an hour - which shows that there really wasn't anything that we all wanted to stop and look at - but the fact that you could go around as many times as you wanted meant that - as it was raining - we took advantage of. Just feel slightly disappointed by it.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank 73Veronica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canterbury Roman Museum also viewed

 

Been to Canterbury Roman Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing