We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (541)
Filter reviews
541 results
Traveler rating
331
164
32
6
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
331
164
32
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews continental breakfast butter market sloping floors shared bathroom overlooking the square old building quirky hotel shared facilities fresh fruit salad perfect location rabbit warren steep stairs charm and character single room loved this hotel full english parking voucher
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 541 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2018 via mobile

Located next to the main gate, the hotel is older than the cathedral itself. Stunning view of the square from my room, and you can see the cathedral from the bathroom. The room is small but really comfortable.

Perfect location, surrounded by restaurants and cafes.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank ereenn18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2018

I spent one night here in September. Perfect central location with a wonderful history. I loved waking up to the sound of the cathedral bells. Great breakfast, charming staff, room well equipped. Amazing value for money, will be returning soon!

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mollielouise48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2018 via mobile

Stumbled upon this wonderfully quaint property of great historical value. The halls are a bit of a maze but is part of the exciting transformation to a time past. Note: Due to its age, the floors are uneven and the doors are low but both add to the ambiance.
The rooms on the back look out to the Cathedral of Canterbury and the rooms to the front out onto the street. Both are unique perspectives of life.
Breakfast is in two separate rooms overlooking the bustle of activity on the street below, a perfect view for people watching as they enter the Cathedral Gate.
The staff is very attentive, caring and helpful from the very first email to the last goodbye and everything in between.
This is a must stay location in Canterbury in the heart of this ancient town.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank L3415NJscotth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2018

We had a great stay in this lovely hotel right next to the Cathedral and directly opposite the Buttermarket. Sensational location within walking distance to many tourist attractions and the eating precinct. Room was small but tastefully decorated and comfortable. Very friendly staff who assisted us with our heavy luggage.

Room tip: If you have a car, it has to be parked in a public car park some distance from the hotel.
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JeanLatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2018 via mobile

I am 28 and stayed with my boyfriend, arriving on bank holiday Sunday for one night. We were able to park right outside the door to unload our luggage and was then given directions to a car park with a permit at discounted rate by the very welcoming man on reception who offered us a complimentary drink and shown us to our room. Our room was lovely! The views of the Cathedral were amazing (minus the scaffolding works)! We stayed in room Joy. Bed was very comfortable, we slept lovely and ordered breakfast to our room free of charge in the morning. Hot croissants, jams, fresh fruit salad and corn flakes! Again, really another very pleasant man on shift on Monday. Very helpful. This hotel is so old and cute. All the walls and floors are wonky! Do not expect premier inn straight style modern rooms! You are in the heart of the city with plenty of cafes bars and restaurants. Only £12.50 to go into the cathedral and its grounds, highly recommend the visit! Would stay here again :)

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Emmasaxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews