We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky and good fun!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed one night in July and loved it. The young man at reception was fantastic!! I loved the quirkiness of this place. Located right next to the Cathedral gate it could not be more convenient.
I loved being able to sit outside and gaze at the Cathedral while enjoying the lovely potted flowers. We were very pleasantly surprised at the lovely breakfast eaten while looking out at the lively square. This is not the Hilton but if you want a place very much in tune with the history of Canterbury and super convenient....this is it!! Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank winliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (476)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

397 - 403 of 476 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

Cathedral Gate couldn't have been a better choice for us- within a stone's throw of Canterbury Cathedral. The views of the Cathedral by day and by night--spectacular. The breakfast nook we found especially charming because it overlooked the town square. The breakfast itself -a wide selection- all very tastefully served. The staff- Deborah and Sabina -went out of their way to make our three night stay most enjoyable. Our double room, recently renovated, was comfortable, spacious, and immaculately clean. There's no doubt in our minds this charming hotel had everything we were looking for. Proximity to nearby restaurants and a city car park nearby was accessible and affordable. Kudos to Deborah and Sabina - an added plus to our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We loved this hotel. All the staff were incredibly friendly and thoughtful. Our room looked like it had never been used before, totally spotless. We stayed in Nightingale, and had an en suite shower room, which was also brand new and lovely. The breakfast was delicious and the price was right. You cannot get more central when it comes to Canterbury. Would definitely come again!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
5  Thank Hallie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Thank you for an amazing nights stay on Thursday, which started with coffee on the roof terrace what a special treat. The room was bright and very clean and all the staff very helpful couldn't do enough for us, you too Oliver! .Breakfast was a treat. Hotel couldn't be better situated in the centre of Canterbury. We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pamelae984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed here last minute and got a double room with a shared bathroom. Despite poor reviews in the past, newer reviews were good and said the hotel had recently been taken over.
The location is perfect, only 10 mins walk from the station and next to the cathedral in the centre of town. The staff were very friendly and helpful. As the buildings so old the floors are a bit uneven and the whole place is a bit of a warren so i wouldnt recommend for disabled people. There is a garden/patio overlooking the cathedral where you can have tea and coffee.
Our room was lovely, really clean and the carpets and furniture are all brand new. Despite my reservations about the shared bathroom it is only shared between a couple of rooms and was clean and decorated to a high standard.
A continental breakfast was included in the price which was more than enough including toast, croissants, tea and coffee, yoghurt, fruit and cereal. For a few pounds extra there is a cooked ooption. The staff serve this to your table.
The only negative was the rooms being in the town centre on a weekend night which was a little noisy but I expected that from a hotel in the centre of town. Ear plugs were provided.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Interrailed2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I loved staying here! I loved the quirkiness of this charming place. I wish my kids could have been here with me, they would have loved walking to my room on a roof! It was very Mary Poppin-y. The floors are slanted, the doors crooked.....that IS the charm of this place!!! We had a 'did that just happen?' moment while sitting on the back terrace having tea looking at the cathedral, when five or six red military planes flew, in formation, between us and the cathedral! Perfect!

I wish I could have stayed longer than one night. I stayed in Serenity and my friends stayed in Joy. Both are rooms that the new owners have already renovated. Both beautiful rooms, Joy had unbelievable views of the cathedral, mine had rooftop views, I could see part of the Cathedral Gate and some of the cathedral. I would definitely recommend staying here. If you like new and chain hotels, you are not getting that. You are getting quirky and historic!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tlchippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Thank you for a wonderful overnight stay. We loved the quirkiness of your hotel, the roof garden and have to say the staff were so very polite and helpful - Oliver you were so helpful too! We would definitely stay here again, in the centre of Canterbury life. The rooms were neat and clean, the breakfast a treat and the hotel was the perfect base for exploring Canterbury.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.1 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
2,117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
1,180 reviews
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
298 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#12 of 16 in Canterbury
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cathedral Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral Gate Hotel

Address: 36 Burgate, Canterbury CT1 2HA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range: $70 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cathedral Gate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cathedral Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Gate Canterbury
Hotel Cathedral Gate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing