We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (524)
Filter reviews
524 results
Traveler rating
233
200
75
12
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
233
200
75
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages cottage number city centre cooked to order breakfast pleasant hotel minute walk lovely garden ample parking lovely old building cricket ground leave the car two nights breakfast was excellent top floor four poster room was spacious single bed
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 524 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

Needed to book a twin bed room for one night which would allow a small well behaved dog. Found Ebury Hotel website and called to check. A very helpful gentleman confirmed he could oblige us. Also that they could provide a vegan option cooked breakfast.

Lovely big old Victorian property set back from road 10 mins walk into Canterbury. Free parking. Staff very friendly and helpful. We had a spacious family room (room number 6), with a king and a single bed. En suite bathroom with bath and shower over. Sofa, desk and TV, tea and coffee making facilities, bathrobes etc. Lovely quality white cotton bed linen and plenty of fluffy white towels. Decor is rather dated “1990s country house style” in neutral colours but I liked that! I hate it when these old places get renovated in trendy modern styles out of keeping with the architecture. Beds were firm, there was some traffic noise as room was at front of house, and there was a big light attached to a tree outside illuminating the front door which meant room was not very dark! So I would ask for a room at the rear next time. Everything was very clean. The hotel has a large beautifully maintained garden with a huge old cedar tree and would be lovely to sit in on a sunny evening. There is a decked pergola area with 2 hot tubs at side. The breakfast room was very light and pleasant to be in with Victorian style decor, a long buffet table of cereals, pastries, juices, yoghurts etc. You can also order cooked breakfast. This was included in the room charge. We are vegan and they provided soya milk and plant based margarine, and we had baked beans, grilled tomatoes and mushrooms. Also plenty of toast was brought. It was very nice place to stay. I would definitely recommend it as great value and location. They also have some small modern but nicely built cottages in the grounds for rent. They looked very good. The staff could not have been nicer. And our dog was made very welcome too. Excellent value too!!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank SamG520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2019 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights Friday to Sunday for our anniversary. Had a double room at the back of the building overlooking a beautiful garden which was really quiet. Room was a good size with a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was lovely, although the wallpaper was a little tired and could do with updating, but the shower was good and everything exceptionally clean.
The breakfast was delicious and the staff were very attentive. A good selection of cereals, fruit, juices etc and a lovely fully cooked breakfast.
All staff we saw/met were always friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend if visiting Canterbury. Approx 10 min walk to centre but very flat and simple to get to.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank julie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2019 via mobile

Beautifully comfortable bed with lovely white linen and fluffy towels in the bathroom. Everything was exceptionally clean! Very friendly staff, lovely breakfast room with nice cooked breakfast. The location was handy for the city centre too.

The only negative was that the bathroom had no fitting to stand up in the shower - it had a bath with a shower attachment and the water pressure wasn’t great. The bath was very welcome after our long walk but may be useful to have a wall fitting. Having said that, the bathroom was beautiful and wonderfully clean.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank E1183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2019 via mobile

1st comment - try to book directly with the hotel; we were told that if we’d done that we would have been offered a better price than via a booking site.
2nd comment - my rating is based on the things that made my stay enjoyable, not on the little issues that the hotel staff can do little to change.
The staff are welcoming and helpful, our room was clean and the bed was comfortable. There was plenty of hot water, the room was quite warm but soon cooled down when we turned off the radiators and opened a window. The breakfast was great - good quality products used in the cooked breakfast and plenty available. NB just take care when picking up the tea and coffee pots! Lovely looking items, well made and no dripping, but the handles got very hot!
We didn’t visit the bar, but in the summer I can imagine that a drink taken into the beautiful garden would be very appealing.
This hotel is in lovely old house, with many of the original features. Some of the decor is a bit tired and certainly not modern in appearance, but I thought it suited the house well. The windows in our room were not double-glazed (maybe it’s got listed building status), so there was some noise in the evening, both from the garden/bar and also through the door from other parts of the hotel, but nothing late or that kept us awake.
I’d happily visit again.
The photo is a tree in the garden, seen from our bedroom.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank JackiePHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2019 via mobile

I recently stayed one night at this pleasant hotel as a guest of the University. It is easy to find, on the south side and slightly out of the city centre, and consists of a series of large period houses connected together and fronted by a more than adequate car park. The internal public areas are charming, clean and warm. To the rear there is an extensive garden, accessed via the bar, with plenty of tables and chairs to enjoy the space in warmer weather. Rooms vary in size and facilities. In mine, the ensuite’s fitments felt a bit tired but we’re in keeping with the traditional decoration of the room itself, which was comfortable. Breakfast was in the restaurant. The staff were friendly and efficient/attentive. Overall, a pleasant stay.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank ChristineBurns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews