We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
lancashire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed February 20, 2010

We were lucky to stay in the purpose built cottages in the grounds of the delightful hotel and could not find fault at all. We had the best of both as we could use all the facilities of the hotel,yet have the privacy and flexibility of the self catering cottage. The location is fantastic it is within a short walking distance to the vibrant city centre. Restaurants in the city are plentiful and extremely enjoyable. We are definately going back for a very relaxing yet busy break.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stillgame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    172
    67
    11
    4
See reviews for
101
211
16
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2010

The staff were lovely and the welcome perfect, but as a solo traveller I got the fuzzy end of the lollipop! The room was at the top of the hotel (no lift). I had to pay for internet acceess, almost unheard of now.

The room was OK, but the bathroom pokey with only a bath and no shower. This coupled with a very slow running sink meant that the stay was at best quirky and at worst inconvenient.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Radioheadkiduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aliCanterbury, Owner at Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, February 15, 2010
Thank you for your review, and amusing title, Firstly I am pleased you found the staff attentive and that you received a warm welcome. We have rectified the slow draining basin, and are now offering free WiFi to all our hotel guests. I am sorry you found the single room "pokey" however single rooms are single rooms because they are not big enough to be double rooms. We are always happy to accommodate guests specific requirements, and if you let us know in advance, we will endeavour to make sure that we allocate a room to suit individual needs. As no-one should have to suffer the "fuzzy end of the lollipop" We look forward to welcoming you back to the Ebury.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2010

Fantastic hotel and a very enjoyable stay for 3 days. Our room was a good size and very clean, with an excellent bathroom and comfortable bed. Very helpful and friendly staff, breakfast was superb and the location is ideal for all the sights in Canterbury as just a 10-15 minute walk. The indoor pool and jacuzzi was a real bonus, and a great way to relax and get warm after sightseeing on a cold winter's day! Would definitely stay again if visiting the area in future.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzyQ2511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2010

I can't really fault our one-night stay at the Ebury. Our top-floor room was nicely decorated in keeping with the period style of the hotel, with a comfy bed and what looked like brand-new towels. It was also spotlessly clean and very quiet. The icing on the cake was a lovely view over the rear garden. The staff were helpful and friendly and the English breakfast was filling and very tasty. If you held a gun to my head and forced me to make a criticism, it would be that the coffee tasted like instant, rather than filter, but that really is a very minor niggle.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinklady022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2009

Enjoyed this hotel very much. Room was large and comfortable. Walking distance to the sights and sounds of canterbury. Breakfast excellent, food very tasty, service very good. We had a misunderstanding re the breakfast on 1st morning and it was solved within a few minutes and with a smile.....we will certainly recommend this hotel to our friends and we will be booking another visit next year and staying with Ebury Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candu51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colchester
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2009

The rooms were perfect for our need. Family of 5, three children. We had 1 double bed and second room with 2 single beds and a sitting room with a all facilities, can seep up to 2 more. with everything from kettle to dishwasher!
It felt like a private pool, a bit small but enought to have a few more families in. Very clean.
5 minute walk to the centre. enoughparkig. vry good breakfast with good vegitarian options.
The onlysmll point, the sofa could havedone with a good hoovering.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank headache123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2009

We found the hotel very clean if rather old fashioned. It is in easy walking distance of the city and has good parking. It was value for money but the restaurant let it down. There was one other diner, and a decidedly staid atmosphere. We could only think the french chef was on holiday because we were served good pub grub but nothing like we had been led to believe we would have from reading the menu.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
1.0 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
275 reviews
0.8 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
431 reviews
0.8 mi away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
306 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pilgrims Hotel
Pilgrims Hotel
#9 of 16 in Canterbury
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments

Property: Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Address: 65-67 New Dover Road, Canterbury CT1 3DX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ebury Hotel is located a short walk from Canterbury city centre and the cathedral, this 15 bedroom elegant Victorian building is situated in its own gardens. All bedrooms are ensuite, and have Freeview tv channels, flat screen tvs, free fibre optic wi-fi, and welcome trays. The double rooms all have kingsize beds. Family rooms are available. Facilities include a large free carpark, indoor heated pool, Henry's Bar,the sun terrace and gardens. Two bedroomed serviced apartments located in the hotel grounds are also available. Self-catering cottages are available on weekly lets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ebury Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing