We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice afternoon tea” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Number 12 Tearoom and Restaurant - CLOSED

Number 12 Tearoom and Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
London
Level Contributor
130 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“nice afternoon tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

Purchased on a groupon deal a really pleasant afternoon cream tea, friendly helpful staff.nice break in the middle of a walk around Canterbury

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    26
    14
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ashford Kent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Afternoon Tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

We have just had afternoon tea at Number 12, excellent selection of sandwiches home made cakes and scones all very good!
We went on a Groupon deal great value, very attentive staff asked several times if all was ok
offered more tea and jam and cream.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank pestedLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The best quiche in Canterbury”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

This is the place we go for a lunchtime treat. If you are lucky you can get a window seat overlooking the entrance to Canterbury Cathedral, a lovely position to people watch. The homemade quiche is gorgeous - crisp pastry and a variety of fillings. Served with an interesting dressed salad not just a couple of slices of tasteless tomato! Good service too - well worth a visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“very scrumptious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

My husband and I went for Afternoon Tea, we had a selection of sandwiches hand made and bread locally made, with Tuna, cheese and apple and cider chutney and thick ham and mustard. We then had two scones with jam and cream and a selection of cakes. All were lovely. We even had 4 cups of tea each! Lovely setting, overlooking Canterbury Cathedral. Very nice staff, will definitely be going back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank klt25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, Kent
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very Impressed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

We went for Afternoon tea on a Monday afternoon and didn't leave disappointed. We had sandwiches, scones and cake (all hand made) and after eating the sandwiches and scones we couldn't eat any more as we were full up. Very kindly if you cant eat any part they wrap it up and bag it so you can indulge again later. The service was flawless and so polite with nothing being a chore. Upon booking which i would recommend they ask if you have any dietary requirements so i guess they accommodate that also. Classical music in the back ground made it relaxing and if you have a wheelchair or push chair there is a lift so you don't miss out! Totally recommend this lovely place and happily go again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michellelovesmojitos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Number 12 Tearoom and Restaurant also viewed

 
Pett Bottom, Canterbury
Bishopsbourne, Canterbury
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing