We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sweet place.”
Review of Mama Feelgoods

Mama Feelgoods
Ranked #8 of 35 Coffee & Tea in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Maidstone
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Sweet place.”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Having been disappointed by the paucity of places to buy decent children's clothes in Canterbury city centre - even the selection in "Fenwick's" was pretty woeful, if you can believe it - we were directed here to purchase something for my new Goddaughter. "Mama Feelgood's" - slightly arch name, but I'll let it slide - seemed the perfect place for a decent bacon sarnie and a drink. And it was. The place as a whole seemed nice and busy, and this cafe was no exception. Really fresh and reasonably priced sandwiches, made with what tasted like good-quality bread and bacon. Service was exactly what you'd expect from a good quality cafe - pleasant and smiley. And nice clean clothes! SO depressing to be served by slovenly waitresses covered in coffee, butter and jam. We'll chance a more substantial meal next time, and see how that works out. Definitely a four star experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annabelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    23
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice tearoom but not good customer service”
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

This tearoom is in a lovely setting and is quite quaint but when told to move from my table or leave I was a little put out. I won't be going back despite the lovely cakes and light lunches

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Veronica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
307 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Always a reliable treat.”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

My family and I have been coming here for years and there was a time when it first opened that it was let down by it's staff. This is not the case any more. Everyone is very helpful and friendly. On my most recent UK trip I stopped by Mama Feelgoods several times. It is a great place to meet with friends, and I prefer to stop here and have coffee on the way to Canterbury then have something in Canterbury itself now. Each experience was just as good as the other. Excellent breakfast and most importantly great cake. There is always a good selection of sweet treats and they are always fresh! The tearoom itself is casual and bright, comfortable and clean, there is outdoor seating which is lovely when the sun is shining and after having sampled the delights of the tearoom, one can walk across the courtyard to their shop. I'm already looking forward to my next visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank likestotravel30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!”
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic breakfast, would like to go every weekend! Highly recommend the bubble and squeak on the side - wish they were open in the evening too!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James_hole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Perfect little lunch spot”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

It's very easy to miss this place if you happen to be driving throught the area, but if you do stumble upon it then you should give it a try. I sometimes pop down from my zoo workplace and grab my lunch here and it's always very good. The staff are always very friendly and it's very reasonably priced for the quality of produce that you get. It also has that nice bit of charm to it as it's set within the grounds of a working hop farm...which is becoming a rarer sight around these parts. I'd very much recommend this place for a nice, quiet lunch whilst passing through.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkFromTheZoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama Feelgoods also viewed

Birchington, Isle of Thanet
Canterbury, Kent
 

Been to Mama Feelgoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing