We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent breakfast”

The Thomas Ingoldsby - J D Wetherspoon
Ranked #124 of 377 Restaurants in Canterbury
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Reviewed January 29, 2013

we were in canterbury to watch the cathedral and we needed a place to have a breakfast. we found this place and it's been an excellent place to have a good breakfast.
for us the price was cheap (2 breakfast about £ 20).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ironpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

238 - 242 of 268 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

We have friends in Faversham and when we visit we always end up in Canterbury, the women love 'retail therapy'. Previously having visited The Thomas Ingoldsby, as it was my birthday, I thought I would push the boat out and buy lunch. This time it was packed. Service was slow with staff talking instead of serving. The beer when it came was good and the coffee caused more delay but eventually arrived. It appeared to me that this place has fallen victim to its' own success. Extra staff should eleviate the problem. The food when it came was good and let's be honest where else can you go and get lunch for four with drinks for £18.16? Fortunately we were in no hurry and for me the delay probably saved me £50!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EnglandFattyarbuckle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

awful service took 10 mins when i asked for a decafe coffee then women said she couldnt do decafe no apology then manager brought cooked breakfast over which definatly had been sitting there for ages would never go there again avoid

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas I, Manager at The Thomas Ingoldsby - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2016

Thanks for taking the time to review us.

We will pass your comments on to the bar and floor team. It is a shame you will not be revisiting

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Steak club: steak and chips for £5.99 what a bargain! As a student lacking in protein it sorted me out! Good food good value. Its not gourmet but you don't pay gourmet prices.

Good drinks value too: 2 pitchers of cocktails for £10, can't go wrong really! Lots of choice of cocktails. Staff were friendly and working fast, cocktails were good.

Best place for predrinks and a quick and cheap lunch in Canterbury, can't complain :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jess c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Very busy today with steak club at £5.99 good value I had ribeye and amazing cooked good atmosphere from old to young a mixture of customers

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Thomas Ingoldsby - J D Wetherspoon also viewed

 

Been to The Thomas Ingoldsby - J D Wetherspoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing