We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly great!”
Review of ABode Canterbury

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ABode Canterbury
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2008

We stayed one night as a short break over the May bank holiday weekend.

Despite reading reviews on here first, we still ended up with a 1st floor room racing the high street. I was woken at about 5am when they swept the street, but apart from that it wasn't too noisy.

The bed room was fairly small, but not cramped. The bathroom was very modern and spacious. Soap/shampoo etc were all very good.

Reception staff were helpful and friendly. We had no special requests, but they pro-actively offered us maps, theatre guide and lists of attractions in and around Canterbury.

Parking was a problem. We took the last space, which was actually reserved for disabled drivers, so we left my mobile number at reception in case someone that needed it arrived after us.

We could only get a 9pm reservation at the restaurant, which is an hour later than we would normally eat. We started with a half bottle of Champaign in the Champaign Bar at 8:30pm. It has a complex flavour and we both thought it tasted nicer than many "brand" Champaigns we have tried.

Sadly, things went downhill from there. We moved to the restaurant at 9pm, and things ground to a halt. Simple things like bringing the wine list took ages. At one point there was a 15 minute gap between being shown the bottle of wine I had ordered, and it actually being opened.

I think we finished our main course just before mid-night. I hate to be rushed, but 2 courses in 3 hours is a bit too relaxed. We were offered dessert, but by that time, we were ready for bed, and who knows how long it would have taken to arrive. The slow service was a shame, because the complimentary lobster soup and both main courses were excellent (not so impressed by the starters!)

We enjoyed our visit to Canterbury, and would recommend this hotel, but if offered a 9pm table at the restaurant, maybe look around for somewhere else to eat.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank niceguy1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,956)
There are newer reviews for ABode Canterbury
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,839 - 1,845 of 1,957 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2008

Just spent three nights at the ABode. Very comfortable room right in the heart of "old" Canterbury. I really appreciated the free wireless internet and the iron in the room.

The staff was very accommodating, to the point where they actually reopened the bar so that four of us could end the evening with a pint. (They did charge us a fee for reopening the bar...a comical 80 p
($1.60)!)

Other reviewers have commented on the limited parking. To make matters worse, the GPS system in the car taking me there was unaware that the street is blocked to non-pedestrian traffic. Unable to turn, the driver found himself trying to navigate the narrow and/or one-way roads to considerable frustration, until with the help of several passers by we got to a dead-end that happened to be at the back of the ABode.

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MichiganFloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2008

Just spent two nights at the Abode in Canterbury while sightseeing in the area. The hotel has been refurbished to a very high standard, our room was lovely, the restaurant food was absolutely delicious and the waiters and waitresses very good, explaining what each of the complimentary meals were which were served in between the main courses. Reception staff were very helpful and assisted with any queries we had. The hotel is in a very good situation right on the main street within easy walking distance of all the main attractions. We managed to park in the hotel car park but if that is full there isn't much parking close to the hotel. We decided to leave the car in the car park and caught a bus to visit the local area, a one-day Explorer ticket only cost £5 each and we could travel anyway in the area as many times as we wanted during the day.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sally081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2008

I found the hotel clean, the room was spacious, everything worked, sure parking is a concern, as are the drunken youths that pass by the hotel in the early hours, make sure you ask for a room facing away from the high street! and take the train.

Food is good both in the main restaurant as well as the pub, but not excellant. Suggest you take a taxi to the Red Lion at Stodmarsh or the Duke William at Ickham for better food. (both around £8 in a cab)

Canterbury does get very rowdy Thurs, Friday and Saturday, and lacks bars that are not fully of army, students, thugs or drunks.
Bars away from the high street are a better bet as are the villages close by, Wickhambreaux, Bridge, Ickham, Stodmarsh.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank undercoverelephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2008

My fiance and I stayed in the Abode hotel on Easter Sunday, 23rd March in room 210 on the second floor and booked a "Desireable" room via Lastminute.com for £95 which excluded breakfast.

I'd read other reviews on this site that mentioned that parking would be an issue so we left our native Essex quite early doors and decided to park in a local NCP for a couple of hours before checking in and just wondered around the town and Canterbury Cathedral. I'm assuming that as it was a Sunday it was much quieter but in any event when we returned to the hotel about 12:00pm we managed to get a space no problem and there were other spaces available. We knew we couldn't yet check in but hte hotel were happy to keep hold of our bags while we went out and had lunch.

Check in was fast and efficient and upon entering the room we were pleasantly surprised. As mentioned we'd booked a desireable room, nice size, very modern with woodern mirrors, desk and headboard, very comfy bed and the bathroom was new and very clean with the standard complimentary toiletries (except shampoo and conditioner which was a problem for me as i'd decided not to take any as I thought the hotel would have some but all it was an all in one body/hair wash which for ladies is not very good!). My only complaint would be about the plasma tv on the wall - it was positioned very low, almost equal to the height of the bed. So when you're lying down in the bed you practically looking at the screen at the bottom of the bed!

Canterbury itself is lovely, if you like the oldie worldie cobbled stoned streets etc its very charming and I found it enchanting having never visited before. There's also plenty of restaurants, bars and cafes around so you don't have to eat in the restaurant or have breakfast there as the hotel is situated in the town centre itself so you step out the front doors and are a stones throw from loads of eateries.

Overall we had a very pleasant stay and so would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stokesie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2008

All very British.
Refurbishment done down to a price rather than up to a standard. We stayed for a 3 night break over Easter. The car park was full (with what looked like staff cars and not customers' cars) so entry involved a chaotic hassle to get suitcases into the hotel and then to find a public car park in grubby Canterbury.
The room was very small, mediocre and of a standard which would cost you maybe £65 in much of Europe rather than the £125 (without breakfast) that we paid. The double bed seemed to be designed for dwarfs.
The staff were pleasant enough but this hotel drastically needs strong expatriate management who can spot the typically British shortcomings of grubbiness, scruffy lift, housekeeping trolleys left all day in the corridors, stained carpets. We have stayed in hotels in over 60 countries and cannot understand why so many hotels in Britain are only clean when they are new and not thereafter.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fogartyBourneEnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2008

We've just returned from an Easter break away in Canterbury, staying at Abode for one night. On arrival we called the hotel to arrange parking, to be informed that their car park was now full, which was fair enough, but never having been to Canterbury before we were totally lost trying to find an alternative long stay car park. The hotel were unable to give us directions to the car park they had recommended, and just suggested for us to use 'tom tom' (not having sat nav, we drove round for half an hour until we eventually found it)! For those of you going there, the closest long stay car park is labeled 'castle long stay' from the main road around the city, it costs £6.50 for 24hrs and the hotel is 100yrds down the road to your right from the car park.

The hotels reception and champagne bar look impressive, modern with a traditional twist, and the reception staff were relatively helpful. The room we were allocated (desirable room) was smaller than I would have hoped given the price (we paid £145 for one night, bed only via expedia), and the bathroom was less contemporary and stylish than the hotel would make out. The carpet in the bedroom was also stained, and the bath caused a leak in the room below (no fault of our own), so we had to be disturbed by hotel maintenance to look into the problem.

The hotels restaurant (Michael Cains) was fully booked for the Saturday evening, so I cannot comment on the food, and the Tavern was rather cold and lifeless, so we decided to eat elsewhere. We found a great cafe-bar called Boho further up the High Street and ate at Little Italy in the evening (as most places were booked up with it being Easter weekend), the atmosphere and food here were great. We then spent the rest of the evening in the hotels Champagne bar, where the staff were really attentive and were more than up to the challenge of creating some fantastic cocktails for us!!

I agree with many other reviews about the hotels lack of attention to detail, but if you find a reasonable deal, because of it's great location and friendly staff you should have a good time. I've stayed in far nicer hotels for a similar value and overall, I would not be in a rush to return.

Stayed: March 2008
1  Thank Lola18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
449 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,172 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
286 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
0.2 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#12 of 16 in Canterbury
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Canterbury

Address: 30-33 High Street, Canterbury CT1 2RX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range: $124 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Canterbury 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its central location, within the ancient city walls and only minutes away from Canterbury Cathedral (a World Heritage Site), ABode Canterbury is the perfect base to explore this historic city. Individually designed bedrooms, contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Enjoy fine dining in The County Restaurant, contemporary pub food in the The Old Brewery Tavern, or relax with a drink in hand in our Champagne Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your ABode Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Canterbury Hotel Canterbury
Canterbury Abode Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing