We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of ABode Canterbury

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ABode Canterbury
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Great location, superb service from the staff in all parts of the hotel, in particular the mixologists in the cocktail bar.
Tiny little things need attention in the room (it was one of the cheapest rooms), paint chipped round the door, that sort of thing, but lovely smellies!
Had dinner in the restaurant which was awesome (separate review).
Only downside is the car parking which is a nightmare, if you can get into the hotel car park it's not too bad, but to be fair, the hotel is in an historic building, right in the centre of an historic town, so it's not going to have loads of space for a car park!
Worth a stay!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tatyans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,974)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,609 - 1,615 of 1,974 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2012

couldn't have chosen a better location. Restaurants, shops, location, bus terminal and attractions all within 10-15 mins. to the left or right of the hotel entrance.
having a kettle with wide selection of teas and coffee is such a plus.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank horse54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

A very striking hotel with an expensive restaurant attached, plenty of lounges and a champagne bar. It doesn't quite work as the high-service boutique it's trying to be, though. It's very central but also very noisy: the external and internal soundproofing is poor, and the room had the loudest air conditioner I've encountered in years. The staff aren't as attentive as they need to be to live up to the promise of the design and marketing: they're friendly and efficient, but they lack that edge that marks a real high-service place.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simoninireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I recently stayed at ABobe Canterbury to celebrate my mothers 70th birthday. Although we had booked standard comfortable rooms, the hotel had noted the birthday and upgraded us to their most enviable suites which was a really nice touch. The staff were really helpful and welcoming throughout the stay. The hotel itself is lovely with a range of comfortable and relaxing areas to spend time in. The central location is also fantastic. I would thoroughly recommend it for a short break.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NessJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

From the moment I made my reservation to check-out, service levels from all staff was second to none. I stayed in room 132 with my Mum and 4 month old baby, which was clean, comfortable and spacious enough inside. The only negative would be the bathroom...which was a very tight squeeze and we are both very petite ladies.
The location is very central, you couldn't be better placed to explore Canterbury with all amenities and shops on the doorstep. We dined at both restaurants, although the food was great I would not recommend dining at the main restaurant with a baby...we felt all too aware that my daughter was slightly noisy, spoiling the experience for other diners. So if you have you have young ones go to the Old Tavern round the corner which is a gastro style pub.
Other than that this hotel gets the thumbs up...and we would recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kwong77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Really enjoyed my stay at Abode Canterbury last night. The staff were really lovely and welcoming and went beyond the call of duty to accommodate us. Our dinner at Michael Caines' was excellent. Really loved the complimentary toiletries provided in our room. Abode is located perfectly in the centre of Canterbury...shops, puds and restaurants literally on the doorstep. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a hotel in Canterbury.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Staff were happy, knowledagable, helpful and sign in was quick and easy. Our room was huge with a largest bed I have ever seen, well maybe, clean bathroom and agreat view down the high street. We didn't eat the, Michael Caine restaurant, but the breakfast was hot, tasty, fresh and quick. It is expensive but as a treat worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steveorpington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
455 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#13 of 16 in Canterbury
1,137 reviews
0.6 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#8 of 16 in Canterbury
290 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Canterbury

Address: 30-33 High Street, Canterbury CT1 2RX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range: $114 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Canterbury 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its central location, within the ancient city walls and only minutes away from Canterbury Cathedral (a World Heritage Site), ABode Canterbury is the perfect base to explore this historic city. Individually designed bedrooms, contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Enjoy fine dining in The County Restaurant, contemporary pub food in the The Old Brewery Tavern, or relax with a drink in hand in our Champagne Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your ABode Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Canterbury Hotel Canterbury
Canterbury Abode Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing