We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“steak out this.!.”

Ye Olde Beverlie Restaurant
Ranked #79 of 372 Restaurants in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Pub, Grill
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“steak out this.!.”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Doorstep steaks and doorstep chips, washed down with a pint of your favourite brew, or relax in the garden to the inhalation of the aromas exhuding from the kitchen.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    49
    13
    5
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great food at good prices!!”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Went to the Beverlie as had heard that the fajitas were "to die for!!" had to try!! Myself and my guest both opted for the chicken fajitas and also a bowl of chunky chips as we like our food!! Although it appeared to be quite busy we were served and waited on very quickly and politely. The food came within 15 minutes and was cooked to perfection!! The portion sizes were plenty ample for anyone!! For Mexican this is unheard of for many within a large radius!! We both are big fans of Mexican and usually opt for cafe des Amis or chiquito in Westwood x tho after dining at the olde Beverlie I believe I will be changing my routine!! Compliments to all the staff especially the bar staff who were ever so polite and helpful! See you soon!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodie1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fab food at the Beverlie”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We were visiting Canterbury for one night to see my son and his girlfriend who are students at the Univesity. We booked a table on their recommendation for the four of us and had a wonderful meal. We shared garlic bread and buffalo wings - sauce fab and chicken piping hot, 2 starters plenty for us all. Between us we ordered the chilli, t-bone steak, duck and steak fajitas and we could not fault any of it. Good sized portions, in fact we had food left over which the waitress kindly put in a box for my son to take home - students, what can I say? Overall wonderful meal and lovely walk back into Canterbury afterwards.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WelshladyWilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food at the Olde Beverlie”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

I live in Canterbury and eat at the Olde Beverlie a lot becacuse the food is amazing. Their Chilli is outstanding and so are the duck fajitas. As with all Shep pubs the drinks are of a good standard too. I recommend all the wines - the manager knows what he is doing and all you have to do is ask his advice and he will steer you in the right direction on both the food and drink front. The staff are always friendly and the service in this pub is of a high standard. Basically it is currently my favorite place in Canterbury.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShamH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
623 reviews
348 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
“Pleasant surroundings, ok food”
Reviewed May 24, 2012

This local has become a gastro pub. That's forgive able in these tough times. It still has a pleasant atmosphere and friendly staff. Our lunch of hand cut chips, ham & 2 small fried eggs was good but small. Nothing to complain about for £6.95. The beer however, is bland Shepherd Neame fare. Best option is the Thatchere's Cider in fact. Could do better considering the lovely building & convenient location. The Dolphin still beats it by some margin. Put someone like Peter (dolphin) in here and it could be a thriving asset to Canterbury life.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donsafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ye Olde Beverlie Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ye Olde Beverlie Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing