We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a discovery” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Parrot

The Parrot
Ranked #48 of 361 Restaurants in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What a discovery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We found this place by accident and what a great find it was, we fancied a quick `snack` so settled on the bar food menu, despite the lure of the full restaurant version. Our `snacks` were not only enormous they were excellently presented, and each one tasted out of this world. value for money was absolutely fantastic, and we will be sure to be back very soon. Please anyone who reads this understand, I can be the most critical of diners and give very if any allowances when any eaterie, despite any reputation, gets it wrong, The Parrot gets top marks all round, if in Canterbury PLEASE make sure you give it a try

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mickywinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    102
    27
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
247 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Who's a pretty boy then?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Lovely old(est) pub in a picturesque corner of old Canterbury. A couple of (short) streets away from the high street so quieter than other places, which is great for us, less great for them. Proudly displays a sandwich board proclaiming "Pub Food" but it's underselling itself - a cheese ploughman's is Pub food; devilled crab and butcher's terrine is not, and so much the better for it. It's largely left in the raw so you can appreciate the ancient beauty of hand hewn timber and hand thrown brick, but retains a warm, cosy feel. So, good food, friendly staff, architectural eye candy and not overcrowded, brilliant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lovely olde worlde pub & restaurant!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We've eaten at the Parrot a few times in the past and ate there again last Saturday night. We weren't sure we'd get in as we hadn't booked but there was no problem (there never is). I love the upstairs room with it's wonky floor and wealden beams..there has had to be some major modifications to the bases of the furniture to make it sit level! This place should be rammo, and I don't quite understand why it's not.
We had the chilli garlic lime prawns (or something like that) to kick off with which were utterly delicious, followed by mains including slow roast belly-pork and rib-eye steak with pink peppercorn sauce and some kind of Mexican burger, all very good, the steak being cooked spot on as requested. A pre dinner drink each , a bottle of house white and the bill came in at a fairly reasonable £88 or so for 3 of us.
The current manager (James) served us attentively and stood explaining the history of the building for a good 10 minutes when we asked about it.
Another overwhelmingly positive experience, I hope they can iron out the staffing issues high-lighted by other reviewers because this place deserves far more acclaim, and certainly to be ranked higher than 50-something out of 200 odd restaurants in Canterbury on Trip Advisor!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fabulous atmosphere at the oldest pub in Canterbury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Eating at The Parrot is definitely a time-travel experience. The old building is wonderfully crooked and charming. The food is very good. The selection is not gourmet or outstanding, but the food is caringly prepared and of good quality.
You mostly go there for the atmosphere though - amazing. Ask to view the old room upstairs. Better than some museums. A real glimpse of what this place and Canterbury was like centuries ago.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DDolatschko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Good food and atmosphere shame about moody waitress...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Went here a couple of days ago with my boyfriend for something to eat. We've been here a lot of times before and love the food and atmosphere and the staff are all friendly and helpful! This day however there was a blonde waitress with a braid down her back working I hadn't seen before so maybe she's new. As I stood at the bar waiting to get some drinks I saw her serving the girl next to me and she didn't bother smiling or even talking for that matter! She just poured the wine, plonked it down on the bar, took her money and gave her change without uttering a word! Thankfully I was served by the very polite barman ( I think he might be the manager), when our food started arriving I was disappointed to see it was the waitress serving it.... She walked to our table with an aggressive look on her face, slammed our food down and walked off without a word! No "do you need anything else" no "enjoy your meal", when she cleared our starters I said "thank you, that was lovely" and she just smirked to herself and walked off! I went into get more drinks around the time our mains were coming out and heard her swearing and complaining upstairs in the kitchen and then came stamping down the stairs and served our mains in exactly the same arrogant way... Perhaps she was just having a bad day but being a waitress myself I know the importance of giving good service to every customer no matter how you are feeling that day! Perhaps she needs to change her profession...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emilycanterbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Parrot also viewed

 

Been to The Parrot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing