We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in a lovely pub garden”
Review of The Parrot

The Parrot
Ranked #45 of 372 Restaurants in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food in a lovely pub garden”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Spent a lovely sunny bank holiday Monday in the Parrot garden. The food was very good and it has a lovely atmosphere. Only slight complaint is that the staff not very good at clearing the tables. Apart from that we all had a wonderful afternoon and great food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaNevill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    110
    31
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
437 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 366 helpful votes
“Cool for its history, but service lacking”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

According to our B&B hosts, it's the oldest pub in Canterbury, so it's neat being inside (or hanging outside, as we did). That aside, the service was lacking. We were two couples eating together. When two of us put in our order first, the others were told that they would need to wait 10 minutes to put in theirs. Even after explaining that we were together, it took arguing to get them agree to allow us all to order at once. Appears they are understaffed. Then we received an incorrect order. Regardless, food was decent.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank HollisterRanchGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canterbury UK
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food and beer pub”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Excellent pub, great service, great food, cosy and warm in the winter, with real fire, great beer garden in the summer. Genuine Olde worlde look as it is a historical building, lovely wooden beams and floors. The upstairs restaurant area floor is particularly quirky so not for the infirm or when you have had a few!
All in all a nice pub and a great place to get an excellent quality meal!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank justin4772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Visited this old pub after being recommended by friends,we decided to try the Parrot for lunch.
There was a fantastic selections of local ales on and the place had a great atmosphere a real mix of young/ old /families. The staff were really friendly and helpful and the food was superb.
So good in fact we returned that evening for dinner in the upstairs hall.
Will definitely visit again!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“friendly staff but less than average food and beer”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

After being a regular here as a student many years ago we re-visited this pub and so wanted to love it again. But sadly whilst its a lovely building in a lovely spot and the staff welcoming enough, it was cold, the food was below average and of the three beers we ordered, one was returned, the other two left unfinished.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RTW-in-80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Parrot also viewed

 
 

Been to The Parrot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing