We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“laid back and lovely!”
Review of The Veg Box Cafe - CLOSED

The Veg Box Cafe
Price range: $4 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Friendly veggie/vegan cafe serving fast, healthy food. Always seasonal using the best local, organic vegetables. Excellent teas, coffees and cakes.
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“laid back and lovely!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

A nice selection of food that is both tasty and healthy, they cater for everyone’s needs, and children are welcome. A nice family atmosphere, highly recommended.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kerry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    43
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Veggie Fare in Canterbury - Good Value”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

A little off the (well-) beaten track of Canterbury High Street: above Canterbury Wholefoods shop in Jewry Lane.
Starters: home made Hummus with hint of garlic. Fresh pitta. All good.
Main: lentil stew, served pleasingly hot, with salad garnish and fresh bread.
Pudd: home made, rosewater-scented meringue (could have been a mite 'stickier' on the inside ?).
Friendly atmosphere (Saturday lunchtime).. Child friendly. Good service. Wholesome.
£15 pp (inc. tip, soft drink and coffee).
What's not to like -

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndieLloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great vegan lunch”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Good veggie/vegan cafe above a great health food store. Nice mix of veggie and vegan food, plus some gluten free options as well. Great place to go for lunch :)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CeiliStarfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“My favourite place in canterbury”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Once upon a time I flirted with veganism. This place was a lifesaver. The food is interesting and tasty. The best darned vegan cupcakes anywhere, so good in fact, that even though I have returned to my carnivorous ways, I will gladly and willingly tuck into one of their cupcakes any time!
The portions are good, the choice is varied and changes (except the bean burger.....mmmmmmm), Im always in a dilemma of what to choose! The price is good for what you get. Frankly there is nothing I want to criticise about the Veg Box. I have and will continue to return time and time again.
If you go at peak times be prepared to share a table or wait for one to become spare.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank V P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to Eat”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The Veg Box serves great homemade food, all the cakes are made on the premises and I highly recommend the raw chocolate cheese cake, last time I was extravagant and had vegan icecream with it! There is usually something different to try as they have daily specials, and if you only want a snack that is ok too. They are now open in the evenings from wednesdays to saturdays which is a great bonus as there are so few places to eat where it is only veggie and vegan. It is licensed in the evening and we had a delicious glass of wine with our meal. Access to the cafe in the evening is from the rear in Hawks lane but the little extra walk is well worth it.Give it a try day or night you won't be dissappointed. They use locally sourced organic produce too.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Veg Box Cafe also viewed

 
Canterbury, Kent
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing