We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT MEAL VERY GOOD ATMOSPHERE” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Century - CLOSED

New Century
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: WE are family business in canterbury for over 20 year ,we alway doing our best on our service and food to all the local familys and visitors in canterbury, looking forward to see soon in our restaurant ***
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT MEAL VERY GOOD ATMOSPHERE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

On impulse last night we decided to eat out. Having parked around the corner we found the New Century. They do a mixture of Chinese, Indian and Nepalese cuisine. The restaurant is quite small and intimate. I quite fancied the Nepalese as I enjoy this very much but we decided to go for the Chinese all you can eat menu. The starters came arranged beautifully on a huge dish very well presented and hot. The seaweed was the best I have eaten together with the Satay chicken, the sauce was beyond description Yummy!!!

The Sizzling dishes were full of flavour and perfectly cooked.
What a fantastic meal although the service was not superfast it was acceptable considering they were busy for a Monday what made the restaurant appealing and worth a return visit, was the Manager coming over to apologise for the delays as they were exceptionally busy for a Monday. We had a great time and will be back soon ( Nepalese next time and cant wait!!)

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank manofkent1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    15
    3
    0
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disgusting”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Obviously changed owners since last year. Ordered shredded chicken
Peking style, they sent out deep fried chicken nuggets!, when I queried the owner said that was how it should look!, I refused to eat or pay for it. The coconut rice was stodgy rice with an inch of desiccated coconut sprinkled on the top, disgusting. The owner treated her young waitress very badly, we left our food and will never return, if you do want to try it, wear something wam as they don't put the heating on. Steer clear, plenty of good Chinese restaurants in Canterbury,

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bonnie093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Awful, used to have very good reputation”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Ordered a take away via Just Eat, payment taken with an one hour delivery time given. Food arrived two and a half hours later, some items missing, three items could not be eaten, all items warm and not hot. Really disappointing especially as we live only live a short 10 minute drive, should have gone elsewhere, will do in the future.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Madeleine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Chinese Food In Canterbury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Fantastic food, good service and an amazing all-you-can-eat menu that offers exceptional value for money. Definitely the best place to go for Chinese food in Canterbury.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank KenC48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst customer service ever experienced”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We ordered this as a takeaway and were quoted a price of £15.70 and a delivery time of 45 minutes. The food turned up 30 minutes late and with a price of £26.70! When ringing the company they were unapologetic just saying it was a "busy night", i have read several other reviews that also complain about the lateness of this company. On complaint about the price the company offered no sort of price negotiation until pressured and then offered a measly £2 off the price. The food was over priced, late, and quoted wrongly. Never again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sophie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Century also viewed

Canterbury, Kent
 
Canterbury, Kent
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing