We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canterbury's answer to Stephen Fry, a real highlight!!!”

Canterbury Ghost Tour
Ranked #6 of 15 Tours in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A darkly entertaining blend of history, humour and haunting on the streets of Canterbury, suitable for all ages , conducted by your jovial host John Hippisley - Kent's Premier Award Winning Ghost Hunter. Join a tour to discover some chilling tales that will haunt your dreams and leave you hair tingling. No harm can come as long as you travel with the Ghost Hunter! Book now online!
Crayford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Canterbury's answer to Stephen Fry, a real highlight!!!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

John was absolutely fantastic, full of gory information, risky humour and genuine charm! A real gem, well worth facing the cold for. If you want to know a bit more about the history of this beautiful city and its' streets, (which come alive through the wonderful storytelling on this tour), then canterbury's answer to Stephen Fry's ghost tour is for you!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emmaqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghosthunter1, Owner at Canterbury Ghost Tour, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Well thank you for restoring my faith in human compassion, very odd how on the same night you came another customer felt the exact opposite, so glad you took the time to post, and that you enjoyed the tour, do tell your friends.

Kind Regards
John Hippisley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    55
    17
    11
    34
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Such a good night!”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I found the whole night to be so interesting and just delightful to walk around. John was such a lovely friendly guy and for people to be "offended" by his jokes is ludicrous. You can tell he has genuinel interest in his job and loves what he does (as do I love what he does) he is just trying to keep people interest and attention so by adding a few jokes here and there he genuinely had my attention the whole time and haven't laughed so much in a long time. The way he chooses volunteers brings the history to life and you can imagine how life would have been many many years ago! He had so much knowledge and I would have been happy to have walked around even more places and learnt even more fascinating facts about my home city! He truely shows you the things that we ignorantly don't notice in our local areas. Such a good night, would highly recommend!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank GemmaBarnes9252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghosthunter1, Owner at Canterbury Ghost Tour, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave positive and helpful feedback, so glad you enjoyed the tour and took time to share.

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Atmospheric tour with a witty and knowledgeable guide”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Forget the poor ratings on here, this is a great ghost tour with plenty of stories and plenty of Tory bashing remarks.
The guide is a friendly gentleman who is very experienced at what he does and that is to tell ghost stories and get the group actively participating through chants and small exercises. There isn't any cheap scares from people jumping out of alleyways, etc ... Unless you include the drunken yobs walking past and shouting rude remarks. 10/10 to our guide for swiftly dealing with this.

Spend your money for an evening on the tour rather than sitting at the cinema and enjoy a good hour or so listening to the gruesome, but often funny, tales to be told here.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghosthunter1, Owner at Canterbury Ghost Tour, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave positive and helpful feedback, so glad you enjoyed the tour and took time to share.

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fab evening”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

It was a really enjoyable evening and the guide was fabulous. He was informative and amusing and it was very much worthwhile and value for money. We have been on several of these types of walks in various parts of the country and this was one of the best.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank msbeattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghosthunter1, Owner at Canterbury Ghost Tour, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave positive and helpful feedback, so glad you enjoyed the tour and took time to share.

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Something Different Within Canterbury”
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

The tour lasts between 1 and 1.5 hours and was funny, informative and well worth the money. We enjoyed it even though it was very cold. Advice for future tour attendees? Engage with John and become involved in the tour - you'll get much more out of it if you do! I'm a resident of Canterbury and always fancied doing the tour and I'm glad I did.

Helpful?
Thank peter n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghosthunter1, Owner at Canterbury Ghost Tour, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave positive and helpful feedback, so glad you enjoyed the tour and took time to share.

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canterbury Ghost Tour also viewed

 

Been to Canterbury Ghost Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing