We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and value”
Review of Cafe du Soleil

Cafe du Soleil
Ranked #9 of 369 Restaurants in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cafe du Soleil is situated beside the river Stour in Canterbury occupying a former 18th century wool store and is accessed by its own bridge over the river. The building was restored with a grant from English Heritage and showcases the extensive use of reclaimed building material from the 14C city wall. Our cuisine draws influence from Provence in southern France, and from Italy, to create a modern Mediterranean cuisine. The menu changes with the seasons, and much of our food is cooked in our wood burning oven, fed with locally sourced wood from managed forest.
Birchington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food and value”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We have lunched in this restaurant on several occasions and of course only return to it because the food, service and atmosphere suit us very well. The pizzas are (in our opinion) the best in Canterbury with a good range of toppings. Other dishes are also excellent. The staff are friendly, courteous and personable. It is a pleasure to visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wade M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    610
    245
    46
    25
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We went there for a birthday celebration and thoroughly enjoyed Cafe du Soleil.
The food was fanastic and huge portions.. the atmosphere was lively and the staff incredibly helpful and friendly.
Highly recommend!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank margatemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best meals I had”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Excellent. This is our favourite restaurant. The quality of the food is excellent, the waiter (I believe his name is John) is FANTASTIC!! Great customer service skills!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tania P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Couldn't have asked for better”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We turned up without a reservation on a busy Friday evening more in hope of getting a table than anything. The waitress who greeted us on the door was really friendly and helpful and managed to squeeze us in. It was a really nice relaxed atmosphere inside, the food was amazing and the staff couldn't do enough to help. One of the best meals I have had and will definitely be returning

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank L0rr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne End, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We popped down to Canterbury today to check out the University and then into the city ready for my daughter to get a feel of the city before she joins the university in two weeks time! We found this fantastic place my husband had the best beef dish, the shared starter for 2 thoroughly recommend. Food, service fantastic we will be back over the next three years.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe du Soleil also viewed

 
Canterbury, Kent
Sturry, Canterbury
 

Been to Cafe du Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing