We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will definitely visit again”

Chapman's Seafood Bar & Brasserie
Ranked #14 of 364 Restaurants in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $53
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Nestled in the picturesque area of St Dunstans, Chapman's Seafood Bar & Brasserie offers a fresh, honest selection of the region's finest catches. Optimising freshness and sustainability, Chapman's is the only restaurant owned by the fish wholesalers. In the bright, crisp dining room filled with whitewashed surfaces and solid beams, favourite delicacies include lobster, crab, mussels and oysters. One of the few independent restaurants in Canterbury.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Will definitely visit again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

Booked at the last minute as Groupon voucher was about to expire and couldn't have been made more welcome!!! Our meal was a seafood platter for 2 and although we were shown the menu in case we wanted a starter/side dish, there was no pressure to order anything extra (we did have a lovely rocket salad to accompany the main course and a glass of Pino Grigio) . Service was attentive but not intrusive and we enjoyed the wide variety of seafood - beautifully presented and excellent quality. No room for a pud but had a first-rate coffee. We will definitely visit again to try some other dishes on the varied menu (plenty of choice even if you are not a fish-lover).

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank challock22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    461
    147
    55
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Oh Dear!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

We went to chapmans with a Groupon voucher, and as we are non drinkers had soft drinks. The food was average and the staff gave the impression of looking down on people with a voucher and was very unatentive. Such a shame. We have eaten here before without a problem, we paid and left then had desert and coffee somewhere else. Fortunatly that was lovely as were the staff and received a nice tip subsequently. Never again!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faversham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

turned up the on a busy Saturday night on a Bank Holiday weekend. went upstairs and had a large table for 2. We enjoyed a lovely 3 course meal with half bottle of Chablis and the bill came to £62.00. I had Seared Scallops with Chorizo and Cauliflower Puree to start. My dining companion had Asparagus with a Crunchy Hens Egg. Mains. Chapmans Fish Pie and Roasted Seabass Fillet. To follow, Buttermilk Pannacotta with Chilli Pineapple and Pear Crème Brulee. Excellent and great service. They also have Meat and Vegetarian options.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Kent, England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Value - Excellent Food - Wonderful atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Having now visited this restaurant many times (and already booked to return in July) they continue to find new and exciting ways of enticing diners back. The food is always fresh, hot and well presented and on my last visit (last week) I noticed they are introducing a half price lobster on Thursdays initiative - who can resist that!! Keep up the excellent quality Chapmans and we will just keep coming back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SandyRoger_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hale, cheshire
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience-would thoroughly recommend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

My husband and I went for dinner for our anniversary at Chapmans over the weekend and we had a great time. Relaxed but efficient service with no pressure to free up the table for the next sitting like you get in some restaurants. A nice wine selection, we tried a couple on recommendation, and we enjoyed each of our three courses.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Theboutiquers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chapman's Seafood Bar & Brasserie also viewed

 

Been to Chapman's Seafood Bar & Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing