We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow ... it's a must for fish lovers visiting Canterbury”

Chapman's Seafood Bar & Brasserie
Ranked #12 of 376 Restaurants in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $56
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Nestled in the picturesque area of St Dunstans, Chapman's Seafood Bar & Brasserie offers a fresh, honest selection of the region's finest catches. Optimising freshness and sustainability, Chapman's is the only restaurant owned by the fish wholesalers. In the bright, crisp dining room filled with whitewashed surfaces and solid beams, favourite delicacies include lobster, crab, mussels and oysters. One of the few independent restaurants in Canterbury.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We enjoyed the most delicious fish dinner at Chapmans on Tuesday 9th April - the best we've found in the UK. Excellent value with good wines - yes English ones too - served by attentive staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cb113le
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy T, Manager at Chapman's Seafood Bar & Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Many thanks for a lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your meal and the service and look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Canterbury.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (746)
There are newer reviews for Chapman's Seafood Bar & Brasserie
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

592 - 596 of 747 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2013

Lovely atmosphere. Gorgeous fish. Helpful, friendly staff. We passed a lovely early evening supper after a very busy day. We wouldn't have found this without checking out the web first as it is slightly outside the city walls and we would probably have stopped on our stroll before we got there. My scallops were soft and beautiful, my husband also enjoyed his beet root smoked salmon. There followed amazing sea bass and my lovely fish and chips. The friendly, attentive (but not intrusive service) rounded it off as did the cheese platter and port. We will visit again if we are in the area!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Southden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy T, Manager at Chapman's Seafood Bar & Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are all very pleased with your comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

With the menu probably 90% fish this is the place to come for well cooked fresh fish. I started with scallops, there must have been 8 all cooked perfectly. I then had a special of monkfish, again a large portion served on a sort of stew of tomatoes,peppers and potatoes - excellent. The staff were helpful and friendly - I would highly recommend.

Thank berksbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy T, Manager at Chapman's Seafood Bar & Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thank you for your kind words and taking time to write a few comments on our restaurant. We all love fish at Chapman's so are pleased when customers do too!

See you again soon.

Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I went there with my daughter the day before mothers day as a lunchtime treat and I will certainly be going back!

We ordered the seafood platter for two and it was great! A mixture of smoked fish really subtle and not overpowering-and shellfish, including king prawns, cockles, brown shrimp and crab, it was one of the nicest platters I've eaten. It could be very easily divided by 2, came with brown bread and butter and 3 dips. We drank local wine, which was good.

We were there for nearly 2 hours and never felt rushed. Staff were attentive and friendly.

I am already planning my next visit!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KentBubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy T, Manager at Chapman's Seafood Bar & Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

We remember you. We are glad you enjoyed our restaurant and quality time with your daughter. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We booked with friends through groupon, the Rondue was excellent value and the service was warm and friendly. The quality of the fish was unbelievable, so fresh it must have been caught that day and would definitly see us return

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy T, Manager at Chapman's Seafood Bar & Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

We are very pleased you enjoyed your table top cooking and would like to thank you for comments.

See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chapman's Seafood Bar & Brasserie also viewed

 
Sturry, Canterbury
 

Been to Chapman's Seafood Bar & Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing