We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Delicious”

Chapman's Seafood Bar & Brasserie
Ranked #10 of 379 Restaurants in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $54
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Nestled in the picturesque area of St Dunstans, Chapman's Seafood Bar & Brasserie offers a fresh, honest selection of the region's finest catches. Optimising freshness and sustainability, Chapman's is the only restaurant owned by the fish wholesalers. In the bright, crisp dining room filled with whitewashed surfaces and solid beams, favourite delicacies include lobster, crab, mussels and oysters. One of the few independent restaurants in Canterbury.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I had a Groupon voucher for a seafood platter for 2 plus a bottle of bubbly. When we arrived (early) we were greeted with smiles and a choice of tables. The staff were friendly and perfectly attentive. The seafood platter arrived and it looked fantastic. Loaded with prawns, and mussels, salmon, crab, shrimps and crayfish tails to name just a few of the delights. We were not disappointed - it was delicious. We had room for dessert and so ordered the mixed chocolate desserts and the creme brulee with raspberry sorbet. . OMG . . . heaven (although couldn't quite manage to finish it all)!! Would most definitely go back and strongly recommend that you try it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Katie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy T, Manager at Chapman's Seafood Bar & Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thank you Katie for visiting the restaurant and writing such a lovely review. The staff really appreciate it when someone notices how much effort they put in.

Look forward to seeing you next time you are in Canterbury.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (772)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

625 - 629 of 772 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

We visited this restaurant for the first time this weekend on a Groupon voucher. What a super little place. We had the Seafood platter and bubbly to share for a nice lunch time treat and it was amazing. We struggled to finish it as there was so much food. The service was very friendly and attentive without being overbearing and the tables were well spaced so no one was sitting on top of each other.
The creme brulee for dessert was the best we had ever tasted!!! Well worth a visit.
We will be going back, maybe for a nice romantic evening!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bluemoosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy T, Manager at Chapman's Seafood Bar & Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Please let us know when you will be returning for that romantic meal so we can allocate you a romatic table. We have some superb fish on the menu at the moment as the our new spring menu was launched today - lobsters coming into season.

Thank you for taking the time to write comments on the restaurant as it is always helpful for future guests.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We went there to celebrate my son's 18th birthday. We very much enjoyed our evening with high quality freshly cooked seafood meal combined with friendly service. Anytime better then Loch Fyne, thanking you Chapman's !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Supersoulmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy T, Manager at Chapman's Seafood Bar & Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thank you for kind review and glad your sons 18th was an enjoyable event.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Went to Chapmans on a Groupon voucher,and really enjoyed the seafood platter on the offer.
The platter must have been 20" x 20" and full of every type of seafood. The lady that served us was very friendly from Whistable, we paid for starter and the bubbly that was part of the deal. Great resturant and food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MAUREEN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy T, Manager at Chapman's Seafood Bar & Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your seafood platter and look forward to seeing you again next time you are in Canterbury.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

only a few people in 2 day why i dont know we had a voucher but what a LOT WE GOT a sea food platter and a couple of bottles of the best champange very clean nice back ground music and service from a very young local girl from whitstable this place u must visit we will RETURN KIM & BERNIE LOCAL

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bernard p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy T, Manager at Chapman's Seafood Bar & Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and enjoyed your huge seafood platter!!

We are glad you received good service and hope to see you again soon, and hope your friends make it next time.

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chapman's Seafood Bar & Brasserie also viewed

 
Sturry, Canterbury
 

Been to Chapman's Seafood Bar & Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing