We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,424)
Filter reviews
1,425 results
Traveler rating
418
584
240
102
81
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
418
584
240
102
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviews car park old coaching inn main building free parking the ground floor buffet style lovely hotel old building four poster bed excellent location public areas city centre high street breakfast was excellent full english quiet room stayed for one night
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1,425 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2019

3 night stay using two rooms. Excellent location very close to city centre. Rooms were adequate and functional without being particularly good; room 17 awkward in layout, lacking any storage space (or toilet brush!) but comfy bed, room 18 more spacious but very soft bed. Both rooms hot. Comfortable sitting area and pleasant environment for relaxing. Staff consistently friendly, pleasant and helpful throughout our stay. Good flexible breakfast arrangements.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fergsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falstaff_Canterbury, General Manager at The Falstaff Hotel, Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2019

Dear Fergsontour - Thank you for your feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. The team will appreciate the positive feedback which they take great pride in. We hope to see you return in the future. Kind regards, Miles S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2019

This was a lovely hotel with a friendly welcome, staff could not do enough to help. Lovely warm and cosy rooms, very clean and had all facilities required. Perfect location, lovely breakfast, would definitely return, oh and great bar

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank psychojules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falstaff_Canterbury, General Manager at The Falstaff Hotel, Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2019

Dear psychojules - Thank you for your feedback and we are delighted you enjoyed the service and facilities at the hotel. we hope to see you return soon. Kind regards, Miles S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019 via mobile

Excellent hotel, centrally located. Room was very clean and comfortable. Staff where exceptional. The manager helped me carry our bags to our room. Parking was easy to find and quite secure. Really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Cokejar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falstaff_Canterbury, General Manager at The Falstaff Hotel, Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2019

Dear Cokejar - Thank you for your feedback and I'm delighted you enjoyed the room and stay. We hope to see you soon. Regards, Miles S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2019 via mobile

Went for an Afternoon Tea with a few girlfriends & had a lovely time.
There was a great choice of sandwiches, scones, cakes & chocolates. They catered for a friend who has a yeast intolerance which was lovely as she felt included. Another friend had a couple of cocktails which she said were lovely.

The staff were very friendly & our waiter was very attentive so would recommend this as a place to use for a treat.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank 901ChristineT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falstaff_Canterbury, General Manager at The Falstaff Hotel, Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2019

Dear 901ChristineT - Thank you for your review. George and the team will be delighted you enjoyed the service and afternoon tea. The cocktails are unique at the hotel and the team have their own adaptations of the classics. Thank you and kind regards, Miles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2019 via mobile

A 1-night stay in. Room 291. The room was comfortable, but the noise from outside the window was unbearable and prevented any sleep until around 3am. Unfortunately there is a pub next door and the smokers congregate outside the window of this room, talking/arguing loudly. We can usually cope with a bit of traffic noise, but this was continuous until the early hours and resumed at around 6am. I stay in many hotels both for work and leisure and this was by far the most disturbed nights I've had in a long time.
I can see from previous reviews that the noise has been an issue with others. If this could be rectified, my review would have been more positive.
Bearing in mind I booked this last year, I would have expected to be given a quieter room.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank UKtravalator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falstaff_Canterbury, General Manager at The Falstaff Hotel, Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2019

Dear UKtravalator - Thank you for your feedback, we are investigating the noise in room 291. The windows have received a type of sound proofing, but we can review another option. I'm sorry it interrupted your sleep and i hope it does not deterr you from returning to the Falstaff in the future. Thank you and kind regards, Miles s

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews