We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome and a quaint 15th Century Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Falstaff in Canterbury
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A warm welcome and a quaint 15th Century Hotel”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We had a double and a single room last night
The Falstaff is a quaint hotel dating from the 15th Century. All the staff we met were 21st century and couldn't have been more helpful. I stay in a lot of corporate chain hotels and the Falstaff was a very welcome change. Other reviewers have said that the floorboards creak, they do, what do they expect?
Clean rooms, comfortable beds free wifi, free carpark and good service, these things all suit me. A good hotel for the price and we will certainly stay again. Thank you!

Room Tip: The hotel is split into three sections, we stayed in the old part on the ground floor and were pleas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikey U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    470
    189
    79
    54
See reviews for
165
559
58
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed overnight for business and found the hotel good value, centrally located for work or tourism alike. The free wi-fi was free and a useful bonus. The staff were welcoming, friendly and well informed about local amenities. All areas were smart and clean. The style is full of traditional character so there are a few squeaky floor boards but I found none of the noise others speak of. Highly recommended.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank CRM010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, Middlesex
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We arrived yesterday at the Falstaff after a very stressful journey as my car had blown up on the M20 in Ashford in the fast lane of all places too! After a tow from the AA to Maidstone to get a hire car, we travelled to Canterbury and checked in to find we had been given a very welcome upgrade to a superior room with a four poster bed and views over the road outside the hotel. It was a lovely room with en-suite modern bathroom and sofa. The creaky floorboards were really quaint, the bed was so comfy and we had a thoroughly nice stay there. The staff were all friendly and the breakfast was very tasty. I would definitely recommend this hotel as it's so close to the town with all the restaurants and shops and also the Marlow Theatre. The historic buildings are lovely to look at. The hotel has a car park for about 35 cars behind it which is an added bonus. The only downside was the heat in the night but I suppose we could have turned our radiator off and I'd rather be warm than cold so overall, no problems here. Thank you Falstaff for the upgraded room. It was MUCH appreciated :)

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, you may not want a room at the front of the hotel overlooking the str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliep010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John A, Manager at The Falstaff in Canterbury, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very kind feedback. I am delighted to hear the team looked after you so well and that you enjoyed and made the most of the great location that The Falstaff has. I hope your journey home was more straight forward and enjoyable. We very much hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and as we are right next to Canterbury West station there is always the high speed train as an alternative!!

Kindest Regards,

John Alexander
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Spent a week here whilst on a course. Great hotel and welcoming staff. Nice and clean and well looked after. The breakfast was great and service was good. Lots of car parking space at the rear which makes it great for Canterbury. Only a 3 minute walk to the main town and the cathedral. Would definitely stop there again.

Room Tip: Beware the new one way system in town. Straight right as you go through the town gate and the car pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brumthetree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2013

we had a great stay hotel was very good but room was very small and the bed was the same ...but overall we only stayed 2 nights & loved cantabury .all the staff were very helpful and food was good .just the room ..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Helpful?
Thank russell d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

It was my second visit and took advantage of the special discount. I booked a single room and got a fantastic room on 2 floors, all mods and cons, trouser press, ironing board, TV, Wi-Fi, downstairs, ecritoire and teamaker upstairs plus the most modern bathroom and shower i have ever seen. Considering that this was e medieval post house the owner have made an incredible job.
Some small negatives: the bar is often unattended and while the breakfst is one of the best, the room is small and the Room manager rude. Otherwise a fantastic place to stay.

Room Tip: ask for the rooms in the annexe they are modern in an old environment. and absolutely silent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martino56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John A, Manager at The Falstaff in Canterbury, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking advantage of our loyalty discount and returning to The Falstaff. I am really pleased you enjoyed the room. I will follow up with the housekeeping manager to make sure our reputation for friendliness is not taken for granted but I certainly appreciate you value staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

John Alexander
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,914 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.3 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,151 reviews
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
278 reviews
0.5 mi away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#9 of 16 in Canterbury
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falstaff in Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falstaff in Canterbury

Property: The Falstaff in Canterbury
Address: 8-10 St. Dunstans Street, Canterbury CT2 8AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Falstaff in Canterbury 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just metres from Canterbury's medieval West Gate, this charming building dates back to 1403. A former coaching inn, it offers free WiFi and free parking, 2 minutes' walk from the city centre. The Falstaff still retains many original features, including oak beams and an open log fire. Each room has a TV for guests to use, and facilities for making tea and coffee. The hotel offers a cooked to order full English breakfast as well as self service buffet option. The bar offers a range of wines and variety of exclusive cocktails. Canterbury West Rail Station is a 3-minute walk from the building. The city's spectacular Norman cathedral can be reached in less than 10 minutes on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your The Falstaff in Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing