We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't go far wrong staying here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Falstaff in Canterbury
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“You can't go far wrong staying here”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I've stayed at a few hotels in Canterbury, including the Abode, and I have to say this one is the best by far. We have just returned from a 2 night stay in a superior room and have to say we will return here. The staff were very helpful, the room was beautiful (four poster, large), breakfast very good and location perfect.
Ask for room number 9. It's a ford poster out the back so very quiet.
Only breakfast food wise is server but due to the location, this is not a problem. The only thing I would say is that the bag area needs up dating but that is all,

Thankyou, falstaff, for making a very important weekend away perfect

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John A, Manager at The Falstaff in Canterbury, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and also for providing us with your thoughts. We are working hard on improving the areas of the hotel that still need some attention as part of a continuous maintenance programme. We are also looking at where we can still improve our customer service so it is very pleasing to here you enjoyed your stay and are efforts are being enjoyed.

Kind Regards,

John Alexander
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    466
    184
    78
    52
See reviews for
161
552
58
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed here in February for a few days away /visit Canterbury.
As others have stated on here the location is excellent for all of Canterbury's main attractions and for the town night life, just far enough away not to be noisy but easy to walk about.
We , as others have said here where put in the old mill building which is accessed by push button key lock which is a bit fiddly, and if you decide to use the small car park for this building , whilst easy to get in your driving skills need to be good to get out in anything over and above a small/medium sized vehicle and will need watching out or run the risk of damage against the wall.

The above said, the hotel staff where excellent, really attentive and informative although European where friendly and knowledgeable. We had a room on the top floor in what would be the attic however the size was very good, facilities excellent and the room was spotless.

Breakfast although a self serviced was of a very high quality and again staff attentive and helpful.

I would definitely recommend if visiting this area using this hotel and enjoyed my brief stay

Room Tip: Room 54 - I would recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs Kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed here 9th February to visit the Marlowe Theatre. Just managed to get into the car park as it holds only about 37 cars.The public car park has overnight parking period finishing at 7.00.am which would mean a very early trip to get a new parking ticket. The room was very clean and had everything that you would expect although it was difficult to get the curtains to properly close. Being an old building the floor creaks and crunches with every step which is a bit of a problem if you visit the bathroom during the night. The worst thing was that the lounge is just under the room we had and I was woken up at 2.00.am by the noise of the guests below which ranged from loud conversations to singing. This finally stopped at about 3.00am. and I managed to get back to sleep. The buffet breakfast was very good and the staff were all excellent. I would happily use the hotel again but would avoid a front room over the lounge.

Room Tip: Rooms on the High Street have secondary glazing but are still noisy. If the lounge is occupied by no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John A, Manager at The Falstaff in Canterbury, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and giving your thoughts on The Falstaff. I am glad you found the room to be clean; we will look into the curtains and make any necessary changes. We do have 35 parking spaces for 46 bedrooms so it is a high ratio (especially for Canterbury) but I appreciate that on occasions we can experience days where everyone arrives by car. I am glad you founfd a space and hope you enjoyed the show at The Marlowe. I am sorry that there were a few noisy guests in the lounge; if aware we do let people know if they are disturbing others. I am glad the team were helpful for you and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kindest Regards,

John Alexander
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tartu
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed here in the beginning of February as a couple.

The hotel is centrally located, right next to the historic Westgate and the high street is less than a minute's walk away.

We were placed in one of the rooms in the turret. The room was nice and comfy, albeit not very big. All the facilities were lovely, although the shower was a bit difficult to operate (the switch between tap and shower head required some force to change it fully) The bed was comfy as well.

Breakfast was great, with a full English breakfast (vegetarian option also available) served and a nice continental selection of breads, cereals, fruits, yogurts etc.

The staff were also very friendly. Overall a great hotel to stay at when visiting Canterbury.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Das_Lich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed in an outbuilding. You will not be disappointed with this hotel. Friendly helpful staff, well appointed and spacious room, decent size TV and fast free internet, great breakfast. Most importantly very clean.

Minor niggles is that we needed to use a push button key-lock to get in to our building which at night was difficult to see and use. The shower is superb but the curtain has a habit if willowing inwards which does not allow the full force of the shower - easily remedied by curved shower rail. The most important niggle for me is the pain at getting coffee at breakfast. I like 2-3 cups of coffee with my breakfast and after the first one you are then constantly trying to catch a servers eye for a refill. The staff seem oblivious and on one occasion I saw them walking to the next table with coffee filling up their mugs and assuming she would then offer coffee to other diners just turned around and went back - very frustrating to have to be detracted from enjoying an excellent breakfast to be constantly trying get some coffee!!

But the if you are a tea drinker you get a pot! Not sure why us coffee drinkers could not get a pot as is done elsewhere.

Any way - a great hotel and if you want a local pub try the Antelope, turn right out of the front door and just over the level crossing. Selection of real ales, wood burning stove and great company and ambience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKPhilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Par, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This hotel is an excellent choice if visiting Canterbury. Very centrally located with private parking. As others have said, they no longer do meals other than breakfast but you don't have to walk more than a few yards for some brilliant choices of places to eat.

We stayed in the annexe which was modern but didn't have any road noise. The only thing which did disturb us was the noisy footsteps of the people in the room above us - starting at 7.00am both mornings! The room itself was very large & warm. The bathroom was adequate but in need of refurbishment.

Breakfast was good - served to us on the Saturday but buffet on the Sunday which was a slight shame as the scrambled egg had seen better days. It wasn't til we'd finished, we realised that we could have asked for fried eggs instead!

The staff were all very helpful & friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John A, Manager at The Falstaff in Canterbury, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your very kind comments. I am really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the team here did their best to look after you.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

John Alexander
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed here twice during one week. The rates are extremely good considering how close it is to the city centre. Rooms in the old building are quirky, but comfortable. Lots of creaking floors and doors first thing in the morning as the building wakes up.
Staff are very good.
Though it's called a hotel it does not have a restaurant, but does have an interesting alternatives. It's hooked up with a couple of local takeaway restaurants and they will order your food for you and deliver it to your room on a tray with plates, cutlery etc. Excellent service.
Left my jacket behind and they posted it back immediately at cost only.
Great hotel and I would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neomanSalisbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,876 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.3 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,136 reviews
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
275 reviews
0.5 mi away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#10 of 16 in Canterbury
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falstaff in Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falstaff in Canterbury

Property: The Falstaff in Canterbury
Address: 8-10 St. Dunstans Street, Canterbury CT2 8AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Falstaff in Canterbury 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just metres from Canterbury's medieval West Gate, this charming building dates back to 1403. A former coaching inn, it offers free WiFi and free parking, 2 minutes' walk from the city centre. The Falstaff still retains many original features, including oak beams and an open log fire. Each room has a TV for guests to use, and facilities for making tea and coffee. The hotel offers a cooked to order full English breakfast as well as self service buffet option. The bar offers a range of wines and variety of exclusive cocktails. Canterbury West Rail Station is a 3-minute walk from the building. The city's spectacular Norman cathedral can be reached in less than 10 minutes on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Falstaff in Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing