We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, but beware of the bar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Falstaff in Canterbury
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Charming, but beware of the bar”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is a charming old inn very conveniently located to everything in Canterbury. Bus stops are also right outside the door if you are going anywhere more than a mile away, e.g. to the University of Kent campus. Canterbury West train station is within 5 minutes walking. Their full English breakfast doesn't get boring even if you have it every single day for a week. However, if you are staying in the old building (they also have a new building in the back) in the first floor above the bar, you may hear music that they play nearly 24/7. However, the staff at reception was very accommodating and they gladly turned it down if you complain.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stanberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    466
    184
    78
    52
See reviews for
161
552
58
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The hotel is one of those very old english houses with low ceilings and not really even walls and floors. But that is absolutely a basic part of the atmosphere.
It is definitely not a design hotel but a very nice and cosy place to stay at.

We had a room outside the main building where everything was nice, clean and comfortable.
The Falstaff does not have a restaurant for the evening, but in the surrounding of High Street you might not have a problem finding something nice. Lots of restaurants for every taste are around the place.

Having breakfast at the Falstaff is basic but good. A littlebit more choices and fresh -and not canned- fruits would be nice.
All in all it is a nice place to stay at.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThinkPink611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Nice hotel situated very close to the main shopping street. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Room was a decent size and clean. Bathroom could do with being updated. But again it was spotless. Fantastic breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misschic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hucknall, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

My family and I stayed here for two nights over a weekend in late January 2013.#

I booked the hotel through EasyToBook.com two months in advance only to forget the dates and book the wrong day of work! Luckily I checked the dates a couple of days before we left and realised the mistake. When I phoned the hotel the staff were very helpful and re-arranged the booking with no fuss (and it worked out cheaper!)

The hotel rooms were a decent size with plenty of room for our travel cot. The bed was comfortable and the room was well provisioned (hair-dryer, iron etc)

Breakfast was good, with plenty of choice. Both cooked and continental were provided..

The Falstaff is located close to the centre of Canterbury, and as it is a relatively small city all the main attractions are accessible on foot.

Overall I rate the Falstaff as excellent value for money

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dazzaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Easy to find and onsite parking, which is important in Canterbury. Stayed here recently with my family and liked the annexe section which was quiet and had clean and we had two well presented rooms. Price was ok and the breakfast was typical British buffet style but perfectly acceptable. Staff struggled a bit with English, but would stay again when visiting family.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Pleasant stay, very friendly responsive staff. Very characterful rooms and building. Useful location for visiting the centre of Canterbury, in easy strolling distance of the centre and the Cathedral. Good shower, comfortable beds.

Room Tip: Rooms on ground floor at street level are probably not so good. You can hear the noise of people'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adamrsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I was visiting Canterbury for a 3-day conference in January and ended up having a wonderful double bed room for myself since the friend I was sharing it with did not make it. The hotel is ideally located next to Westgate and a two minutes walk from the train station. Breakfast is hearty and well-cooked, both cold and hot buffet. The variety is great with lots of fruits, as well. There is also more than one buildings you can stay in, I stayed at one one the back (not the main building), which was quiet and lovely decorated. Hot water is soooo hot, best baths ever! And the beds, fluffy, gorgeous and utterly clean. The staff was also amazingly helpful and friendly. Excellent value, too. That was definitely a wonderful stay that made my whole experience so much better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agelikiL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,876 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.3 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,135 reviews
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
275 reviews
0.5 mi away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falstaff in Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falstaff in Canterbury

Property: The Falstaff in Canterbury
Address: 8-10 St. Dunstans Street, Canterbury CT2 8AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Falstaff in Canterbury 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just metres from Canterbury's medieval West Gate, this charming building dates back to 1403. A former coaching inn, it offers free WiFi and free parking, 2 minutes' walk from the city centre. The Falstaff still retains many original features, including oak beams and an open log fire. Each room has a TV for guests to use, and facilities for making tea and coffee. The hotel offers a cooked to order full English breakfast as well as self service buffet option. The bar offers a range of wines and variety of exclusive cocktails. Canterbury West Rail Station is a 3-minute walk from the building. The city's spectacular Norman cathedral can be reached in less than 10 minutes on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Falstaff in Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing