We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very homely and right in the hub of the city!”
Review of The Millers Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Millers Arms
Ranked #5 of 73 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Great pub, with open fire, very busy place. The rooms are spotless and have everything you need for a short break. Nicely decorated, very modern. Good choice for breakfast, very tasty, staff really friendly and made you feel really welcome. No parking but a car park opposite, pay the pub £6 for a 24 hour parking ticket. Would defo recommend and will go back again. Thank you

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Keely32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (539)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 539 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2014

Had to find a hotel to stay at for short notice when my friends came to stay and I had to re-locate to fit them all my in house (as ever the gracious hostess!)
I chose this hotel as it was in the centre of town and was close to my own house. I felt very welcomed as I arrived, it was a busy pub atmosphere so I feared the worse as I was shown to my room but it was very quiet and peaceful.
My room looked out on the river, it was very clean although small- its the city centre so I do understand that all rooms will be small plus I was just me so the size was fine.
The bathroom was clean, towels were provided as well as lotions, shampoos, a sewing kit etc., all those little bits and bob that are missing these days for cheap hotel chains. It felt extremely homely. The bed was also more than comfortable!

After being shown my room I went down stairs and had a drink and some dinner. The food was really good, with a really friendly atmosphere.

In the morning a cooked breakfast was provided as well as toast, cereals, fruit and juices.

Very friendly place in a perfect location!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeaQueen89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We normally stayed at the Abode Hotel, which is a nice hotel but very much more expensive and frankly without any spa or other facilities to warrent the price. We therefore decided to try something much less expensive. The room was small but worked perfectly well. The bathrooms clean and very well presented. Beds firm and ideal for a good night's sleep. Breakfast was again fine.

I would recommend the hotel as ideal for those on a budget and not looking for anything special. The TV has a god selction of channels. All in all a perfect find.

Room Tip: We had one overlooking the river. It was fine the Friars
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Very friendly staff, took our bags and looked after them while we walked around. We had a room overlooking river which was really nice, other rooms had views of the cathedral. It was clean and the rooms were nice, nice little products in the room. Quiet area, close enough to town. The breakfast was really good, lots of choice. We really enjoyed it and would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Any room would be nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemma123527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Great location easily within walking distance of the city centre.Lovely Shepherd Neame pub with friendly staff.
The breakfast full english breakfast was excellent with plenty of cereal and fruit also to chose from.We didn't eat our evening meal there so cannot comment.
We were the first people to stay in The Pardoners Tale room since it had been renovated and it was beautiful finished and the ensuite was all new.We had views of the park and could here the weir rushing past although this did not disturb our sleep.
Canterbury is a lovely city and this is a great place to stay and explore it ,we would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_and_Mrs_M2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Good Pub B & B. Well run and friendly people. I found The Millers Arms to be a lovely pub within walking distance of the centre of Canterbury. The room called Reeves had recently been renovated and was clean with views of the Cathedral. Really nice furniture though maybe to much in one room.

A brewery managed pub with decent ale, unfortunately it ran out on the one night. A guest beer or 2 would do wonders here. Nice breakfast though I only tried the full English and the Smoked haddock. Good service all round, well recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We found The Millers Arms to be a lovely pub within walking distance of the centre of Canterbury. Our room had recently been renovated and was very clean with views of the river and park. Other rooms had views of the Cathedral. All the staff were so helpful and the breakfast was excellent! We loved Canterbury and we will definitely be back to further explore this lovely city and will certainly stay at The Millers Arms again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank lynneHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
2,033 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
1,153 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#4 of 16 in Canterbury
467 reviews
0.3 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,205 reviews
3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Millers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Millers Arms

Address: St. Radigunds, Canterbury CT1 2AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range: $100 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Millers Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Millers Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Millers Arms Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing