We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, warm and helpful Staff”
Review of The Millers Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Millers Arms
Ranked #4 of 75 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Location, warm and helpful Staff”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Our first taste of wonderful English Hospitality. Traveling with my 75 yr old mother & daughter Millers Arms was our first night in UK after spending a month in Europe with Heavy bags where not once had any one offered to help my elderly mother with her bag. On arrival the pleasnt young man on the desk offered to carry all not just one ,but all our luggage up 3 flight of stairs. There are no lifts, but not a problem with good staff. Hallways were narrow & tired but our room was lovely and spacious, with real windows you could open to get fresh air and see the spires of the Cathedral. The room had a lovely homely feeling very authentic English Character, not a non descript chain motel. Breakfast was also very good with a heartly selection of hot & cold. Paul the manager was so helpful the next day we had checked out & left our bags at reception to explore the city, before a late train out. The weather suddenly turned cold, he very kindly let us get changed into warmer cloths in one of the rooms, then even sat and had a coffee with us and a good chat while we waited for a taxi. For the first time on our travels we felt like a valued guest. Great Location walking distance from Cathedral , restaurant and shops. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    187
    26
    16
    8
See reviews for
81
233
36
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
441 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The Millers Arms is a quaint hotel in a good location. From the hotel, it's about a 5 minute walk to the main part of town and cathedral. The staff was very helpful and friendly. When arriving in Canterbury, we got turned around and the gentleman at the desk literally talked us to the hotel on the phone. We stayed in the Squires Tale. The room and bathroom were clean and adequate considering it is a very old hotel retrofitted to modern standards, but could have used a through dusting under the large pieces of furniture. The included breakfast was nice. Parking, through the hotel, was ₤6 a night in the public parking lot directly across the street. The hotel is in need of some minor maintenance, such as painting the flaking paint on the windows, but for the most part the hotel seemed to be in good repair. Not that anybody was about to climb onto the hotel's roof, but the room's window didn't lock. There were a few spiders I had to deal with and I've got no idea where they came from. Our biggest complaint was that when the window was open, all the cooking odors from the kitchen entered the room, so we had to keep it closed. If reserving a room, ask for a room on the front side of the hotel. There is free WiFi that works best in the lobby.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaimeelsabio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Last november I did for two days in Canterbury to visit the city and I ibooked this B&B that it's a pub as well!

The location is perfect because you can arrive in just 5 minutes to the main street!

The room was big and very celan: the only problem has been that the shower didn't work when we tried to use it( there wasn't hot water) so the manager sent us in an other room to have the shower. The next morinig it worked.

Breakfast has been very good: you can choose the English or the european one!

Very good place to go!Reccomanded!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marco E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Millers Arms over the bank holiday weekend, Sunday through to Tuesday.

When we booked, we knew we were in a twin room, as all the doubles had been booked, but the staff agreed to push the beds together for us, and make the room a double, which was great.

We arrived in Canterbury early and the staff offered to take care of our cases so that we could explore the City, which was good, as we wanted to make the most of the day, rather than hanging around for check in.

Once we had checked in, we were shown up to our room. The corridors of the accommodation building are looking very tired, and in need of some restoration, however when we reached our room (The Clerks Tale) we were presently surprised. The room was a good size, with a window to the front overlooking the lock, and a window to the rear were you could see across to the Cathedral.

However very shortly after booking in, we discovered that there was a problem with the toilet cistern as it would take an eternity to fill back up after a flush and the headboards were broken and one was hanging off the wall. So again, the room could have done with a bit of TLC. The room was clean and bright however so that was good.

As I say, we stayed for 2 nights, and at the end of it, both my wife and I commented that although the bed itself was comfortable, the pillows were awful, and we both struggled to sleep as a result of this.

The breakfast in the morning had everything covered. Fruit, Cereals & Full English together with a wide variety of various other hot breakfast. Tea and coffee aplenty too. One thing my wife commented on though was that there were no croissants.

The Millers Arms bar was very nice looking, and clearly it has been refurbished since some of the customer photo's that have been published on this web site, very clean and tidy. However, as some have posted, their drinks prices are rather steep, and better value pubs are available in the town.

The location of the Millers Arms is superb. the lock outside is very picturesque, and whether we were lucky with our room location (top floor to the right of the building as you look at it), but our room was very quiet and we were not disturbed by any noises from the pub or outside, unless you consider the rushing water in the lock a disturbance). It is also a 5 minute walk, either along the river bank or through the little side roads of Canterbury, to the main centre of the city.

So all in all, 4 out of 5 stars. Let down by the tired looking accommodation corridors and a few niggles in our room. It would not take too much effort by the owners to make this a real top notch accommodation.

As others have said - the Hotel offers a 24 hour parking permit in the public car park opposite the hotel, for just £6.00 (as apposed to the £ 1.10 per hour that the council charge), so before you park up in the car park, pull up alongside the hotel, run in and get your parking permit, then go and park - it will save you a fortune!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Set in a picturesque part of Canterbury The Millers Arms looked to be just about perfect. I asked for a quiet room, but unfortunately was located above one of the main entrance doors. Being a Saturday night, the "bouncers" were in the doorway chatting and laughing with customers until at least midnight. I was not happy after a long journey up from France. After the chatting and laughing came the slamming of many doors (corridor and rooms, I presume). The place did not become quiet until after 1am!! I had earplugs, but the noise was intolerable.

The room was lovely with a shower room and tea making facilities but I would not stay here again because of the unacceptable noise.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank LeicestershireKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I was very disappointed with my stay. This was our second stay and was disappointed with the decor before and was promised that it was having a re-vamp but alas this was not true and arriving in our room the headboard was hanging off the wall.
A note to all women - take your own hair dryers - they are awful and god knows why they still have them, it's like you've gone back 30 years. The house keeper, a bubbly blonde woman, made us feel very welcome. Where the hotel is situated is brilliant for visiting canterbury as you are right in the centre, but I'm sure there are better hotels. The rooms where very clean but hotel is very worn.

We came back for dinner and sat down to a lovely table ( which we pre booked). We were served by an older Scottish man which I presume was the manager as he was telling the other staff to stop standing around rather loudly, which made it quite awkward. After being quite rude and as if we were getting in the way of something he needed to do he forgot about us and our order wasn't put through so had to be re ordered by a young blonde who was a lot more helpful. After waiting about an hour we were disappointed with the result as the battered fish tasted of oil and the chips were soggy. We decided not to have desert as the mood in the restaurant was not nice as you could hear the chefs talking and then going out for a cigarette and then rushing in to obviously do an order which I found very un hygienic

Breakfast was again served by the same lady as showed us to the room and was very helpful - again. Previously when we came the breakfast was served very quickly, looked beautiful and was a proper full English. But this time the breakfast took about 30 minutes and came out at different times missing half of it. They obviously had a staff change and the same rude Scottish man came rushing around not looking like he was doing anything but still not serving us yet he was the only staff there.

I doubt I will stay here again, ruined by the manager and the empty promises of a refurbished hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cameron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Just got back from our third visit to the Miller's Arms. We love staying here because of the atmosphere, location and friendly staff. The building itself however is looking tired and neglected - the floorboards in our room (The Squires Tale) were so creaky we would wake each other up if one used the bathroom! On day one we had a slight problem with our meals which was sorted out straight away, and we weren't charged for the meals in question which was great service. Paul (the Landlord) is always helpful and knows a lot about the area and its amenities. Rosie was also especially cheerful and looked after us at breakfast every day - She started our days off in the right frame of mind! They host a great quiz night, with an enthusiastic and friendly quizmaster, and we enjoyed our stay despite the poor décor and facilities mentioned above. We were told it's due for a refurb in October - let's hope so as this would push any future reviews to 5 rather than 4, I'm sure.

Room Tip: Ask for The Pardoner's Tale Room if you're going pre-refurb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
0.8 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#13 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Millers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Millers Arms

Property: The Millers Arms
Address: St. Radigunds, Canterbury CT1 2AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Millers Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Millers Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Millers Arms Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing