We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of ChomChom Buffetworks Canterbury

ChomChom Buffetworks Canterbury
Ranked #183 of 361 Restaurants in Canterbury
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Chinese, Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
South East
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We went on a wednesday eve just before 6pm , excellent reception, great food beautifully cooked, very clean andgood variety. Only criticism was the drinks were pricey, everything else, well done! Especially the ice cream machine !,

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank heths_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    98
    55
    15
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not good on busy Saturday night : (”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had booked a table for seven people to celebrate my sisters birthday . We arrived to find it very packed and were shown to a table clearly set out for six and told they would fit the extra person on the end . We explained the three sharing a table meant for two would be very cramped and we had booked for 7 people. Reluctantly they found another table to add to the end. It was very busy so queuing was inevitable . This meant that we ended up sitting to eat at slightly different times or if waiting for others food would be cold . Obviously not ideal for celebration meal , occasion had no relaxed atmosphere. The stir fries which were chosen by individuals at the table arrived after a while and somehow got muddled with another tables as no one recognised the ingredients they had handed in . My niece politely tried explaining to the manager/person who delivered her stir fry she didn't have prawns in hers but this was last to be delivered .He became a little irate/ rude and suggested someone else on table must have had hers , but all those delivered had prawns .The last order of nan bread arrived over half an hour late whilst we were eating our desserts. He decided perhaps he shouldn't have been so rude and apologised for the service we had received . He suggested he would look after us properly next time . Unfortunately we may go back mid week as on previous occasions but never again on a Saturday night and not to celebrate a special time . The phrase too busy to care comes to mind.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Miles-and-Co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great Service and Good Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Visited this restaurant last Monday evening and had an excellent meal with first class service. The choice of food was superb and what we ate we could not fault. Having had numerous holidays in Thailand, India and Asia we found the food very compatible with what we had there.
The service was brilliant, always somebody there to give advice and assistance and spoke with us at length at the end of the evening about our visits to Asia. One of the waiters it turned out came from one of the places we had holidayed at.
As regards the comment about 'sneaky service charge', that is totally unacceptable. The service charge is clearly mentioned on the menu, and the prices are exceptionally reasonable. With the service charge there is no necessity to leave a tip - or do these people live in a different world and don't consider leaving a tip - of which around 10% is the norm.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elwyndener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just okay! Wouldn't revisit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Firstly I'd just like to say be prepared for a 3.90 service charge.
13.99 each for the food but there wasn't much to choose from. A bit of Chinese a bit of Indian and then cold salads and chips.
Very basic food, fab service.
Wouldn't return as I can't stand restaurants who add a service charge even though we were quite happily going to give them a tip and even got change to do so.
Very average buffet restaurant, have been to much better.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jonathan04Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cheap”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

You can eat as much as you like, but the food is not terribly good. You get what you pay for. A cheap way to feed the family without resorting to burgers.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marcus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ChomChom Buffetworks Canterbury also viewed

 
Canterbury, Kent
 

Been to ChomChom Buffetworks Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing