We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be so much better!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury
Ranked #29 of 74 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed here with the family after returning my oldest daughter to university in Canterbury. Problems with the plumbing meant that we had two rooms one to shower in and the family room to stay in. The rooms are well furnished and really quite well laid out, the problems are with the bathrooms, the last refurbishment of the bathrooms was not completed to a very high standard and has left a bit of a legacy for the inn to deal with.

The food and service in the restaurant were very good for a chain and we all ate very well, the younger members of the family enjoyed the children's menu.
The continental breakfast that is included in the room price makes the whole stay really good value.

Room Tip: The rooms towards the car park are probably a bit quieter than the rooms at the front that face out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonMagicDougal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Gate Inn C, Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2017

Thank you for your honest review LondonMagicDougal we are so sorry you had a poor experience with us all those years ago, We greatly appreciate the honest feedback and are so sorry the management let you down on this occasion, we are now a new management team here and would love to meet you if ever you are in Canterbury.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 112 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed here for one night when I went to a wedding on saturday. The staff kindly let me check in early and change as I had very little time! The wedding was within walking distance (Winters Barn). I had a good nights sleep - v comfortable bed - the room was at the rear of the Inn so no traffic noise 9whether there was any or not I dont know). Breakfast was continental, i wasnt aware of the option of a cooked one, it certainly wasn't offered. Very standard, altho the helpfulness of the staff was great. I didnt eat and neither did I try the beer altho they has Doombar so should be good! At £65 for one night for one I didnt regard it as cheap, and here should have been a full cokked option for breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Gate Inn C, Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2017

Thank you so much for you review Steve001! If you are ever in Canterbury again we would love to see you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stayed for two nights. The first night we spent in room 1 which although a little shabby was clean and comfortable, that is until we tried to sleep! Every half hour or so throughout the night there was a strange mechanical whirring noise loud enough to wake us up! In the morning at breakfast (which I must say was very satisfactory)
I asked to have a word with the manager about our room. She was very concerned and could offer no explanation for the odd noise but offered us a different room without any hesitation. We gratefully accepted her offer and had a much better nights sleep the following evening. Despite our hiccup on the first night our stay was pleasant, all the staff were very accommodating and the food ( including our evening meal) was good. We caught the bus into Canterbury, the stop is a very short walk down New Dover road and cost £1.50 each way and took 7 mins. approx. Overall we enjoyed our stay, yes the rooms could probably do with updating and decorating but you cannot expect boutique hotel for £62 pp including breakfast!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vonvonone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Gate Inn C, Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2017

Thank you for your review vonvonone. We really appreciate the high score you have given us, thank you so much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This is in the Vintage Inn chain, also known as Innkeepters lodge.
They are generally very good value and you can often book a 3 nights for the price of 2 deal if you are going to stay Fri, Sat and Sun nights. They also do an advancer saver deal which we booked on.

The "complimentary breakfast" is the usually cereal, toast and juice but there is no restriction on the amount you have and there is often the option of a cooked breakfast if you pay extra.

This inn has about 10 rooms and is near to the park and ride so is a good way out from the centre of Canterbury but the food in the pub is good value and also there is plenty of choice.
The room we had was shower only but that is fine and the double bed was comfortable.
There is a large garden with many tables for dining out and if it was a hot night it could be a bit noisy I suppose as there is no aircon in the room and the windows only open a little bit, but this is the UK and our weather conditions dont normally mean you have the windown open more than a few nights of the year anyway.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back as front is on the main road, it could be a bit quieter for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tangoj63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Gate Inn C, Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2017

Thank you jenniferLB65 for your feedback, we really appreciate your time in writing this. We do hope we shall see you on your next visit to Canterbury

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We have stayed in several Innkeeper's Lodges before and always been very satisfied with our experience, however the Old Gate Vintage Inn was disappointing. It has an air of tiredness about it and the accommodation area is in much need of updating- chipped paintwork and scruffy. Our room No.8 was directly above the kitchen. We had to complain twice about the noise from the extractor fan and ask for it to be turned off so that we could get some sleep.
This was not early in the evening but approaching 11.00 @ night. Breakfast was disappointing,
coffee not fresh but stewed. We spotted a slug trail on the carpet in the dining area adjacent to the bar. On the plus side the park and ride into Canterbury is just next door and very efficent.

Room Tip: Make sure you do not end up with room 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CymroSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Gate Inn C, Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2017

Thank you CymroSwansea for your honest review. Room 8 is no longer in service due to the reasons that interrupted your visit with us. We do hope we shall see you again if ever you visit Canterbury. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Needed somewhere to stay that was close to the cricket ground and not expensive. If I was in Canterbury to visit the town then I would prefer a hotel closer to the the centre. For the cricket it was a great location.
The bar and restaurant areas have a lovely old and charming ambience. Our room was simple but decorated to fit the character of the hotel.
I paid extra for the full english breakfast as I found the continental a little boring. The full english was very tasty and consisted of fresh produce rather than tinned, something I had experienced elsewhere the day before.

Room Tip: The rooms over the carpark are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crimsn_petal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Gate Inn C, Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2017

Thank you crimsn_petal for your lovely review. We really appreciate the high score, we do hope we shall see you again on another Cricket visit to Canterbury. Thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Went to stay in Canterbury with a friend and found this to be one of the cheapest hotels near to the city centre. The hotel staff were lovely and were very accomodating as we asked to change rooms after the first night (stayed 3) as the road noise at the front of the building was quite heavy. Our request was met with no fuss and the staff arranged for our bags to be moved whilst we were out! The following 2 nights at the back of the hotel were lovely and quite.
You are literally 2 miles outside town and you can use the Old Dover Road park and ride to get into canterbury which is just around the corner behind the hotel. You can park the car for £2.50 per day (up to 6 passengers) or according to the driver we spoke to its £2.50 each way per person. We chose to park our car in the park and ride carpark. This made it a great way of getting in canterbury and then using bus or train to go further afield if you didn't want to worry about taking the car or finding a car park.
The hotel food was good and reasonable priced and had a varied menu even serving afternoon tea. Apparently a good range of wine ( according to my friend) and I certainly spotted a reasonable range for real ales and cider (stowford press). The breakfast served each morning was continental with cereals, toast, bagels, croissants, some fruit, yoghurt which you helped yourself to and as much juice and coffee/ tea as you wanted.
Rooms were clean and were cleaned each day during our stay with fresh towels provided each day.
For the money I paid ( due to advance booking) of £49.00 per room plus breakfast I would say I got a bargain and I would stay again although i would request a room at the back of the hotel on booking. I find inn keeper's lodge one of the best chian hotels!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzie600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Gate Inn C, Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2017

Thank you Lizzie600 for your fantastic review and feedback, we are so glad we managed to accredit such a high score on this visit. Thank you again! Have an amazing day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
1.5 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#4 of 16 in Canterbury
464 reviews
5.2 mi away
Travelodge Canterbury Dunkirk
2.6 mi away
City of Canterbury B&B
City of Canterbury B&B
#9 of 74 in Canterbury
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Oakside Lodge
Oakside Lodge
#1 of 2 in Upper Harbledown
132 reviews
2.6 mi away
Evenhill
Evenhill
#1 of 2 in Littlebourne
201 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Millers Arms
The Millers Arms
#5 of 74 in Canterbury
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury

Address: 162 New Dover Road | The Old Gate, Canterbury CT1 3EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range: $83 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Of all the hotels in Canterbury, few have as many stories to tell as this historic lodge, which has been providing a warm welcome to travellers for almost three centuries.With nine comfy rooms and its own cosy pub serving a menu of hearty, freshly cooked food, it's the perfect place to enjoy some rest and relaxation. Although there's so much to see and do you won't want to put your feet up for too long.Canterbury is one of England's most beautiful cities, and its jewel in the crown is Canterbury Cathedral, which is a pleasant half-hour stroll from the lodge, or just five minutes by car. You can also explore the intriguing shops of King's Mile, take a ghost tour, visit Canterbury University or take a summer boat-trip along the River Stour.There's plenty to keep you busy further afield in Kent, like wildlife spotting in Blean Woods or a day at the seaside in Herne Bay or Whitstable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing