We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury
Ranked #34 of 81 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Swansea
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We have stayed in several Innkeeper's Lodges before and always been very satisfied with our experience, however the Old Gate Vintage Inn was disappointing. It has an air of tiredness about it and the accommodation area is in much need of updating- chipped paintwork and scruffy. Our room No.8 was directly above the kitchen. We had to complain twice about the noise from the extractor fan and ask for it to be turned off so that we could get some sleep.
This was not early in the evening but approaching 11.00 @ night. Breakfast was disappointing,
coffee not fresh but stewed. We spotted a slug trail on the carpet in the dining area adjacent to the bar. On the plus side the park and ride into Canterbury is just next door and very efficent.

Room Tip: Make sure you do not end up with room 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CymroSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    40
    25
    10
    6
See reviews for
20
50
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Needed somewhere to stay that was close to the cricket ground and not expensive. If I was in Canterbury to visit the town then I would prefer a hotel closer to the the centre. For the cricket it was a great location.
The bar and restaurant areas have a lovely old and charming ambience. Our room was simple but decorated to fit the character of the hotel.
I paid extra for the full english breakfast as I found the continental a little boring. The full english was very tasty and consisted of fresh produce rather than tinned, something I had experienced elsewhere the day before.

Room Tip: The rooms over the carpark are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crimsn_petal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Went to stay in Canterbury with a friend and found this to be one of the cheapest hotels near to the city centre. The hotel staff were lovely and were very accomodating as we asked to change rooms after the first night (stayed 3) as the road noise at the front of the building was quite heavy. Our request was met with no fuss and the staff arranged for our bags to be moved whilst we were out! The following 2 nights at the back of the hotel were lovely and quite.
You are literally 2 miles outside town and you can use the Old Dover Road park and ride to get into canterbury which is just around the corner behind the hotel. You can park the car for £2.50 per day (up to 6 passengers) or according to the driver we spoke to its £2.50 each way per person. We chose to park our car in the park and ride carpark. This made it a great way of getting in canterbury and then using bus or train to go further afield if you didn't want to worry about taking the car or finding a car park.
The hotel food was good and reasonable priced and had a varied menu even serving afternoon tea. Apparently a good range of wine ( according to my friend) and I certainly spotted a reasonable range for real ales and cider (stowford press). The breakfast served each morning was continental with cereals, toast, bagels, croissants, some fruit, yoghurt which you helped yourself to and as much juice and coffee/ tea as you wanted.
Rooms were clean and were cleaned each day during our stay with fresh towels provided each day.
For the money I paid ( due to advance booking) of £49.00 per room plus breakfast I would say I got a bargain and I would stay again although i would request a room at the back of the hotel on booking. I find inn keeper's lodge one of the best chian hotels!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We needed somewhere to stay in Canterbury as we were attending a wedding. As the accommodation at the wedding venue was around £150 per night and we wanted something cheaper this hotel certainly fitted the bill at £55 per night and only being 2 miles away from the venue. When we arrived, we were met with a pretty grumpy welcome but made our way to the room (Room 1). The room was very dated and extremely hot (despite there being some broken panes where you would have thought more air could come in through!). It was right on the road, but the road didn't seem too busy so it wasn't really noisy and it is right next to the park and ride so could be useful if you wanted to use that. The bed was quite springy and a bit noisy but not too bad. The bathroom was very small and when you stepped on the tiles, water came up through so the floor was pretty much permanently wet which was unpleasant when using the sink/toilet. The tap on the sink could only get cold water and the shower was the weakest trickle you could imagine. There was a nice TV, but unfortunately it could hardly pick up any channels (i.e. not even ITV3 or Channel 4). We ate an evening meal at the restaurant downstairs which was reasonable and good quality and we had a friendly, helpful waitress. The continental breakfast was decent (pretty standard) but again we had a cheerful waitress who was keen to make sure we were happy which was a good start to the day. Overall, food was good, accommodation was not. I must mention that we booked two rooms (one for parents) and the other room (Room 4) was better - still dated and tired, but bigger and no problems with the bathroom or shower. If we had been staying in their room I would have rated it 3 rather than 2. If you want somewhere cheap to stay that includes breakfast, this would be an ok choice, but don't expect much from the room.

Room Tip: Stay away from Room 1 (Room 4 was better)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OandRee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Canterbury hotels

Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

I booked this hotel after looking on the website and reading that it was a "6 minute walk from the cathedral" which sounded ideal as I had to be in the city centre for business. After booking it and looking at my route on google maps I realised it was a 30 minute walk from the city centre and pointed this out to them; it was then changed. This was very misleading as I would not have even considered this hotel if I had known it was this far from the city centre. You should really have a car if you stay here.
Once in the hotel, the room was clean which is the main thing, and there was a notice in the bathroom stating if you had forgotten any toiletries like toothpaste/toothbrush etc you could ask at reception which was a nice touch. The hotel decor was very tired but I suppose this is reflected in the budget price. At breakfast, we were greeted by a girl in jeans (maybe I'm fussy but if you're working you should at least wear black trousers?) who clearly did not want to be there and disappeared after getting us cups of tea; there was no menu and no one around to ask whether any kind of cooked breakfast was on offer. The spread on the table consisted of cereal/yoghurts/bread/toaster/jams etc. Juice was horrible (from concentrate) and grapefruit was clearly from a tin. Only stayed for one night so not so bad, but if you're looking for a nice weekend in Canterbury, you should pay a few pounds extra and stay somewhere in the city centre with more friendly, happy staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare_Cate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calderdale
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

This hotel I have used on other occasions, this time it was convenient for an overnight stay from the Dover ferry on my trip back from Spain. Room price includes a Continental Breakfast; The Restaurant has a good menu at reasonable prices and a good range of drinks.
Ideal place when visiting the city of Canterbury, its car park is next to the Park & Ride for Canterbury (Car parking is not easy in Canterbury). The only down side is that you have to drive out of the Hotel car park and park in the park & Ride car park to be able to use the Park & Ride system.

Room Tip: Best room are at the Hotel rear but not over the restaurant kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

Had all the Inkeepers lodge usual features including being attached to a very good pub. Room was clean and well appointed. The bathroom standard for these lodges but on the small side. Breakfast was up to standard. Staff were friendly and helpful. The Lodge is next to to one of the Canterbury park and rides which is very useful for access to the city.

Room Tip: Room 1 has a slightly cramped bathroom but it is OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonboy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
1.5 mi away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#10 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
3.0 mi away
Howfield Manor Hotel
Howfield Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chartham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
City of Canterbury B&B
City of Canterbury B&B
#8 of 81 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Duke Of Cumberland
2.8 mi away
The Pilgrims Rest
The Pilgrims Rest
#2 of 2 in Littlebourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury
Address: The Old Gate Inn | 162 New Dover Road, Canterbury CT1 3EL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Of all the hotels in Canterbury, few have as many stories to tell as this historic lodge, which has been providing a warm welcome to travellers for almost three centuries.With nine comfy rooms and its own cosy pub serving a menu of hearty, freshly cooked food, it's the perfect place to enjoy some rest and relaxation. Although there's so much to see and do you won't want to put your feet up for too long.Canterbury is one of England's most beautiful cities, and its jewel in the crown is Canterbury Cathedral, which is a pleasant half-hour stroll from the lodge, or just five minutes by car. You can also explore the intriguing shops of King's Mile, take a ghost tour, visit Canterbury University or take a summer boat-trip along the River Stour.There's plenty to keep you busy further afield in Kent, like wildlife spotting in Blean Woods or a day at the seaside in Herne Bay or Whitstable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing