We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is the one”

Canterbury Punting Company
Ranked #2 of 14 Tours in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Canterbury Punting Company offer river tours around Canterbury's historic city centre.You can choose either a Historic tour, a haunted river tour or a romantic tour for two. Tours last around 50 minutes.The boats used are traditional punts, which have comfortable cushions and blankets.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This is the one”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

This is the punting experience you want! Go for their wooden boats and fine puntsmen with a story to tell you.
Do visit the Greyfriars chapel and hospital afterwards, knowing what you now know...

Helpful?
1 Thank Frans M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    67
    15
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“One of the highlights of our UK trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Our guide was excellent. Some great stories especially the one where he had a guy propose to a girl on his boat .. But got turned down. The story about the women's chairs near the river... In the old days a woman's head was held under water until they obeyed their husband.
The trip was so romantic I even held hands with my wife!

This is a can not be missed activity

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providenciales
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A very relaxing trip on the river”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is a great thing to do to get away from the hubbub of the city just paces away. We did the 50 min trip which takes you out into the country, I guess we were lucky with the weather as it was warm and dry and sunny.
The 'Punter' was a great bloke, funny with lots of stories to tell (don't sing 'just one cornetto' or you'll end up in the stinging nettles) and did a great job of making it a quite a unique experience.
Infact we went back later in the holiday and did it again with our nephews who loved it.
if you can pick up a bottle of beer or wine from the little off licence up St Peters street and relax while sipping a drink it adds to the experience....

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank rwfhalliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
202 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“So quiet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We were trying to choose between the rowed boats of one river boat company or the punts. We decided on the punts as they offered us a little discount and I am so pleased we did. Although we had to walk along a little way to get to the boats (not on the main drag as the rowing one is) the peace and quiet as you drift along makes the journey a real joy. Andrew gave us a funny and informative commentary and our time was up all too quickly. Quietly drifting through the city and under the ridiculously low bridges whilst hearing about its colourful history was delightful. Charming!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jivebanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mawnan Smith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a delight!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Friends suggested punting in Canterbury, and what a delightful suggestion it turned out to be. Nearly an hour relaxing and watching the old town drift slowly by, with a light-hearted commentary by our charming guide Felicity. Fascinating to see underneath the old bridges (duck your heads) and escape the noise of traffic and crowded streets. Highly recommended for a modest outlay. The cafe where you buy your tickets adjacent to the starting point looks lovely although we didn't use its facilities this time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canterbury Punting Company also viewed

 

Been to Canterbury Punting Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing