We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Canterbury Punting Company
Book In Advance
More Info
$15.73*
and up
45-Minute Punting Tour in Canterbury
More Info
$15.73*
and up
Cambridge Punting Tour
Ranked #2 of 15 Tours in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Canterbury Punting Company offer river tours around Canterbury's historic city centre.You can choose either a Historic tour, a haunted river tour or a romantic tour for two. Tours last around 50 minutes.The boats used are traditional punts, which have comfortable cushions and blankets.
Canterbury
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Had a lovely tour on a sunny bank holiday Monday. Really interesting trip, from a guide (Ian) who really knew his stuff. The trip was made even better with a Mug of hot chocolate, and a slice of chocolate cake from the coffee shop next to where the punts go from.

Highly recommended.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank quixoticgeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    78
    16
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Relaxed and Unpretentious”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

By cannily having a coffee shop at the setting off point of the punting tour, the tedium of waiting for 15 minutes or so for the next punt is avoided. Amiable and helpful staff banter and entertain throughout the 45 minute 'tour'. To be honest there's not a huge amount to see from the tour and the information was not startlingly original - but it was a very pleasant way to spend an hour.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank debra486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We decided to go on a tour when we walked up and asked someone advertising them on the main street. It was an excellent decision, and it wasn't expensive at all. It was a little cold the day that we went, and the hot water bottles and blankets were greatly appreciated and a thoughtful touch. Our guide was very informative and funny, and it was a great way to see Canterbury!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank smuir23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Relaxing punt down the river.”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We booked our punt on the river online which was very easy to do. On the day of our trip it was drizzling and cold but we had a pleasant surprise when we were offered hot water bottles and blankets. These kept me, my husband and daughter nice and toasty on such a miserable day. Andrew (I think was his name)our punter was very friendly and knowledgeable.
I like that you wait in a little coffee shop prior to your trip so you can have a fresh coffee as you wait for your trip to begin.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank magickdraigh2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A lovely addition to our trip!”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Husband booked a romantic punting tour and I was greeted with roses and chocolates on my arrival. Our lovely tour guide Andrew was great offering us the scenic or historic route. We chose the historical route and he was extremely knowledgeable. We was very lucky with our weather but unless you looked into what to do in Canterbury you wouldn't find this delightful activity. Would well recommend this!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canterbury Punting Company also viewed

 

Been to Canterbury Punting Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing