We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A splendid place to eat!”

Deeson's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Deeson's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 364 Restaurants in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $31
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Canterbury now benefits from the new high speed link to London as well as a regular network of rail, coach and bus routes.
Description: Deeson's restaurant is a British restaurant set in the heart of the historic Cathedral city of Canterbury. At Deeson's we pride ourselves on serving the best of seasonal produce that is available to us from Kent the allotment of England and Britain. Our menu celebrates everything that is great about Britain and it's culinary history. At Deeson's we have the freedom to change our menu's on a daily basis directed by the feedback we receive from our suppliers letting us know which products are particularly good at any given time.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A splendid place to eat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

We ate here on two evenings during our four day stay in Canterbury. On both occasions the food was splendid and the service faultless.

On our first visit our table was rather close to the piano, and the music - though cheerful and beautifully played - was slightly overwhelming. When we booked our second visit we asked to be further away from the pianist and this time the piano playing provided a delightful background to our meal.

One criticism - not of the restaurant or of the food, but of the website - is that the menus on the website are very difficult to read: quite small type, white on black, and 'centred'. The wine list is set out in the same way and is annoyingly difficult to understand. I hasten to say that the printed versions given to customers in the restaurant are in traditional format and perfectly legible!

This is a splendid place to eat.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,737 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,186
    373
    126
    31
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A fantastic 10/10”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

Spent a few days in this wonderful city, and found this great restaurant, the first night a sunday!!!, it was fully booked, anyway terrible weather on the monday, so we braved the rain, and it was raining very very hard!, but it was worth it.
Fantastic meal. first class service.
Brilliant food, the steak cooked two ways was superb. one of the best meals I've had. London standard...
Over the last 30 years i have eat in some of the best restaurant's in some of the best places!!!, and this is added to the list of one of the best!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank W b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
73 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, great location and attentive staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

We had lunch whilst here for the day on the recommendation of my sister in law who lives on Canterbury.
We were greeted by a friendly smiling face and shown to our table walking past a smiling piano player who played constantly during our lunch with only a 10 minute break!
We had the set lunch which was great value. I had whitebait which were very crisp and tasty whilst my sister hand the watercress soup.
We both chose the Brie and leek tart which was just to die for!
There is English wine on the menu which is great and I suspect local as they make a point of saying that the food is locally sourced.
Well done Deesons! The whole dining experience was fab and I'm planning on taking my husband there next week so he can see what all the fuss is about!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pinkchampagne07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanstead Abbotts, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great food, perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We had a really good meal for six people, excellent wines and friendly service. The location is perfect - in a historic pedestrianised street very close to the Cathedral.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“could do better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

We booked a table here as the reviews indicated that it was a good place to eat our experience must have been the exception to the rule! The staff were good and attentive but oh dear the food!!! Three of us had the set menu my main course was probably the worst haddock and chips I have ever had, dry overcooked and a bit like cardboard, my friends duck was served with pickled onions? I think there must have been a glut of pickled onions as we had them with our starter. We were offered another meal in the future but when you are on holiday you only get 1 go to get it right. We had desert and coffee elsewhere!


A

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deeson's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Deeson's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing