We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, Kentish hospitality”

Deeson's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Deeson's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 372 Restaurants in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Canterbury now benefits from the new high speed link to London as well as a regular network of rail, coach and bus routes.
Description: Deeson's restaurant is a British restaurant set in the heart of the historic Cathedral city of Canterbury. At Deeson's we pride ourselves on serving the best of seasonal produce that is available to us from Kent the allotment of England and Britain. Our menu celebrates everything that is great about Britain and it's culinary history. At Deeson's we have the freedom to change our menu's on a daily basis directed by the feedback we receive from our suppliers letting us know which products are particularly good at any given time.
Colorado
Level Contributor
60 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Warm, Kentish hospitality”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We arrived in Canterbury early evening, driving up from London, having just arrived that day from the States. We had no reservation, but the restaurant found us a table, and from there, we felt welcomed and began to relax. Incredible meal, with a Romney Marsh duck, and an herb-crusted cod. It was a great place to become acclimated to our time change.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank EKKColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,774 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,212
    379
    130
    32
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gyaaah... urk, nyuk nyuk.... and swallow.”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

ugh - we went at 8:30pm looking forward to the lamb belly - were informed that it would be quite rare, because they'd just started cooking it. Were they waiting for the late-night dining crowd of swinging Canterbury? Pigeon breast was very gamey, but having had fowl elsewhere in England this seems to be normal - maybe I just don't like pigeon. Poor service considering how few people were there and to top it all of it took them half an hour to determine whether they had any Grand Marnier - eventually they discovered they did not, but insisted that Cointreau was the same thing. Um, no. Cute idea to serve everything with a mini pork pie on the side - but I was ticked off at spending that much on poor service, bad kitchen timing and... weird food (though the last one could be my distaste for red fowl)

Helpful?
3 Thank Squirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zurich area
Level Contributor
75 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Top notch British food, right in the heart of the old town”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Right next to the cathederal, Deeson's has a prime location away from the main shopping street, but close enough to the hustle and bustle of central Canterbury to feel 'busy'. The large windows mean you can always see what's going on outside the restaurant, if seated towards the front.

Party of 2, went on a weekday lunchtime, one ordering a la carte, one from the lunch menu.

All courses were excellent although I did have to send my chuppies back for not being crispy enough, quick as a flash they were replaced (they're big and chunky and served in a silver pail) along with an apology and I was informed that they'd been having difficulty of late due to too much sugar in the potatoes affecting starch levels (..if I remember rightly). They also have an excellent choice of local ciders which we found to be very enjoyable and something a little different to wine (which they also serve).

Would definitely go again, the evening menu looked very enticing. I had the distinct impression though that it's probably the sort of place you'd have to make reservations.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geminder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Lunch Venue”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My girl friends and I had a really nice casual lunch here, good relaxed ambiance. Food was really good, local produce, excellent value, service very good.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank rs1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent meal and staff”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Really enjoyed lunch last week in Deesons. Organic produce, well prepared and presented and excellent value on the lunchtime menu. Service was brisk and thoughtful and all-in-all, we really enjoyed our lunch.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TunaTownFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deeson's Restaurant also viewed

 
Canterbury, Kent
Canterbury, Kent
 

Been to Deeson's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing