We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great B & B” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of House of Agnes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
House of Agnes
Ranked #2 of 81 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
lLondon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great B & B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Wanted to visit the Cathedral & old parts of the tow. so House Of Agnes was a perfect location. It was very near all the historical places,shops, pubs & restarants, all within walking distance. We stayed in the stable annexe which was really good being a modern room with all the facilities and even underfloor heating in the bathroom which was good as the night we stayed there the weather was really cold and icy.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebsLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    131
    15
    6
    2
See reviews for
89
509
24
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

We are locals living in Canterbury and stayed at the House of Agnes as a pre Christmas treat whilst attending a work Xmas party. We stayed in the "Marrakech" room which was stunning. So beautifully laid out with a second room and en-suite for a third person to stay (for a small extra cost) if required. We have also stayed in the Venice room and the Paris and each room has it's own quirkiness.

All the staff at the House of Agnes are amazing and make you feel very at home.

A definite must stay if visiting Canterbury, you won't find anywhere else like it :-)

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mandybusby30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

I had been given a good report about this B&B by some friends and decided that we should have a coupleof nights away in Canterbury to try for ourselves. On this visit we had the Boston room on the irst night and the Venice room on the second night (because I had left it so late to book - but I do have Boston for 2 consecutive nights for another bereak in December). Upon checking in we were shown around all the pertinent areas before heading to our room and again all things were explained to us before being left to unpack.
The property is a very quaint building with an opening (driveway) at the side though which you can take your car to park at the rear, but note there are width and height restriction (see website). There is a lovely lawned garden to the rear with some seating for when the weather is more clement. Also at the rear are the newer "stable" rooms and a few yards from these and you can enter the rear of the building into the lounge / honesty bar area. The honesty bar is very well stocked and reasonably priced too. To the front of the ground floor is the breakfast room on your left and another smaller loung to the right with daily newspapers for visitors use.
We both slept well in each of the rooms and enjoyed our stay tremendously.
Take a look at the website for the main buildings themed rooms.
Would I recomend as a place to stay if in Canterbury? Yes I would especially if you like things a little different from the main stream hotels!
Oh yes and a very nice breakfast too!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eyeball_Brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We booked a room last minute, and we were offered room 8 in the stable block. Very easy to find in Canterbury, and has the added advantage of free parking. Check in was effortless, and we were shown round the room by a very helpful receptionist. The room was a very high standard, and the underfloor heating in the bathroom, well all I can say is next time we move, we are having underfloor heating in our bathroom! Breakfast on both weekend mornings was a leisurely affair, no rush, great cooked full english, and free papers. Plenty of information available regarding things to do while in Canterbury. Our two recommendations are, catch a play at the theatre at Kent Universty, 20 min walk away, and you must go to Whitstable for a morning, lovely traditional harbour resort. Two things to note, the train line goes behind the stable block, so if you do not like noise, ask for a room in the main hotel. Also there is a gate down the side of the room. Make sure it is closed before you retire for the night, we did not on our first night, and it did bang a bit. Overall we had a fantastic weekend. We loved Canterbury, and staying at the house made our short stay very enjoyable.....we will be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fbs1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
76 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

A very charming hotel in a great location being only a 5 minute walk into the heart of Canterbury. Our room (Mumbai) was very compact and we found it a bit small for our needs (we only stayed for 2 nights but as part of a longer trip and therefore had quite a bit of luggage). The wardrobe is a small built in cupboard with a rail which runs from front to back of the cupboard (as opposed to left to right), so it was difficult trying to reach clothes and I’m small and agile. However, we were aware the room was small before we booked it and it’s reflected in the price so it’s not a complaint as such just an observation – if you have a lot of stuff, book another room. Breakfast was very good and the honesty bar was a nice touch. Some of the interior design is a bit questionable, especially given it is such a beautiful old building, but again, you are not paying the prices of the Abode/Falstaff etc. The staff were fantastic and they couldn’t have been more helpful (apart from one very grumpy waitress at breakfast). We had a lovely stay and found it excellent value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank City_FolkTravelBugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOAgnes, Owner at House of Agnes, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review which is important for future guests to know a little more about what we have to offer at the House of Agnes.

As you mentioned, the Mumbai room is one of my two smallest rooms (the other being the Shanghai room) which are perfect for a sole traveler or for a couple staying for a night or two.

When booking via a 3rd party site (such as Booking.com etc) you cannot to choose a specific room, only a room TYPE so its advisable to go onto our own website where there is a detailed explanation of each room, including the bed size and type of linen! However, If in doubt give us a call.

My apologies for the grumpy waitress at breakfast...in fact she is a housekeeper and replaced a sick member of staff at the last minute. As she does not generally deal with the public she was scared out of her wits. Hopefully she was efficient, even though she wasn't particularly jolly :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birchington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is the third stay in a different room for my partner and I. Once again everything was of a high standard and the room was fabulous. The staff can't do enough for you and are polite and efficient. It's the perfect place to stay. Can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: Every room is of a high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We have just got home after two nights here. My second visit. Cannot wait to return. Spotless, lovely food, lovely setting. Just perfect. Thank you Sandie and the team. You all work so hard and it shows, I would never stay anywhere else when visiting Canterbury. See you again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammykaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.4 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.3 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
0.5 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Abbots Barton Hotel
Abbots Barton Hotel
#3 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#13 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of Agnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Agnes

Property: House of Agnes
Address: 71 St. Dunstans Street, Canterbury CT2 8BN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — House of Agnes 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The original 15th-century character has been respected and enhanced in this beautiful accommodation. Guests can choose between themed rooms in the main house or modern rooms in the Stable Annexe, each with an abundance of thoughtful extras. Delightfully helpful service, free parking, free Wi-Fi and a heritage garden add to the appeal of this historically significant property, mentioned in Charles Dickens 'David Copperfield,' which is a short stroll from the city centre and railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your House of Agnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Of Agnes Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing