We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
Review of House of Agnes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
House of Agnes
Ranked #2 of 75 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We received a very warm welcome and had a very pleasant 2 night stay at House of Agnes. The Canterbury room was really lovely and comfortable - it is front-facing so some street noise is inevitable, but not enough to keep us up, in fact I think the only reason we noticed it was because we were awake anyway. Ear plugs are provided for those who are very light sleepers. Toiletries, tea/coffee, biscuits, bottled water, were replenished daily. The house has plenty of character and some great touches (e.g. the well stocked, but not over priced, honesty bar). Breakfast was fine, we have had some wonderful and unforgettable breakfasts at other b&bs, so we can be rather harsh when comparing - it really was fine though, if not a little overcooked. Wi-fi worked well, but seemed to be slower in the morning for some reason. Great location for train station and main town. Was very cold out, so didn't get a chance to make use of the lovely garden, but hope to return in the summer! Thanks to all at House of Agnes!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kidlat_tahimik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOAgnes, Owner at House of Agnes, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the House of Agnes. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I appreciate all the comments.

I'm sorry that you were disppointed with the cooked breakfast. We prepare everything fresh and use the highest quality ingredients, such as homemade sausages and home-cured bacon, so I think I should stay in the kitchen and keep an eye on the chef for a few days!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    636
    140
    15
    7
    2
See reviews for
100
540
25
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Beautifull hotel with amazing rooms. We stayed in the Paris which was wonderful with a stunning free standing bath (big enough for two).
Welcome was warm and friendly, there is a bar where you help yourself and make a note of it then pay on leaving.
Breakfast was lovely, bacon and sausages from local farm.
Could not fault in any way, 5 min walk into center of Canterbury

Room Tip: Paris was the front overlooking main rd but never heard a thing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobcatbindi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Took my girlfriend away for a weekend for her birthday and stayed here. Location amazing right near the high street. Hotel rooms were spotless and just what you need. There service was brilliant especially as I gave them the run around with my dietary needs. Will be going back again soon. She loved it. Brownie points for me :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HumptyWFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

WE stayed in the Canterbury room for our first night in England and we couldn't have chosen better. So wonderfully English, full of character!
Breakfast was great, parking was a bit of a squeeze to get through the gates but easy enough once you are through.
Easy walk to the inner city, very friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baby-shmee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This B&B is in a very old building only a few minutes walk to the heart of Canterbury. We stayed in the Boston Room in the main building and it had an exceptionally comfortable king size bed. It was a very friendly atmosphere and the breakfast was delicious. An excellent place to stay.

Room Tip: On their website there are details of each room such as bed size and facilities. We found this helpf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yankiebrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We always look forward to our annual Christmas visit to Canterbury..to be able to park in Canterbury is certainly a bonus, together with the beautiful peaceful garden...all secured.
From the moment you enter the house a warm welcome awaits you in this historic and homely
house..so peaceful and relaxing.
After a restful night the delights of an excellent breakfast awaits you.
We have already booked our room for this coming Christmas.

Room Tip: we always book a room overlooking the garden, but all the rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avoca70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Four of stayed in the stable rooms last week for a post Xmas visit to Canterbury. We had a warm welcome from Sandy and our rooms were comfortable and cosy (excellent showers!) Sure, it was a tricky drive through the archway to the ample parking at the back but well worth it. Because of the excellent location we did not need the car again anyway.We enjoyed 5 star breakfasts and for evening dining we would recommend The Goods Shed , Chapman's Fish Restaurant (200 yards down the road) and Deesons (near the cathedral). Also, the green badge tour giving us interesting insight and information was a really good start to a memorable visit to Canterbury!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruthmacMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.4 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
434 reviews
0.3 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,915 reviews
0.5 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
278 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of Agnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Agnes

Property: House of Agnes
Address: 71 St. Dunstans Street, Canterbury CT2 8BN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — House of Agnes 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The original 15th-century character has been respected and enhanced in this beautiful accommodation. Guests can choose between themed rooms in the main house or modern rooms in the Stable Annexe, each with an abundance of thoughtful extras. Delightfully helpful service, free parking, free Wi-Fi and a heritage garden add to the appeal of this historically significant property, mentioned in Charles Dickens 'David Copperfield,' which is a short stroll from the city centre and railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your House of Agnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Of Agnes Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing