We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay!”
Review of Carena House B&B

Carena House B&B
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carena House B&B
Ranked #21 of 75 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome stay!”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We read good reviews in tripavvisor but this B&B has been even greater! The owner couldnt be nicer! Terrific time in this B&B. We stayed in the small room which I dont think it was smaller at all. All the facilities were working properly. The bed was very confy!

About the breakfast she gave us many choices! We took the english one cooked from the oven, and it was very tasty and nice!

I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    22
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
31
16
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stay at the Carena for 2 Nights it is our first time in a B&B, and was very cosy with a personal touch. Debbie & Barry who runs the B & B are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The room was nice and tidy, with Tea, Coffee and Biscuit, there was a huge choice at breakfast including cereals, fruit, yoghurts and cooked breakfast for those with a bigger appetite. I would fully recommend this B & B and thought it was great value for money. The town centre is only a short walk (10 minutes) where there is a wide selection of shops and restaurants, plus the Catherdral and other interesting attractions.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank millwalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I loved this B & B and it's somewhere that I'd happy visit again. We went on a family trip for my dad's 70th birthday and it was a great place for a UK mini-break. Our room was spotless and you can tell that the owners take great pride in what they do.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DawnieNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Our large family -7 of us!- stayed at Carena House for a couple of days whils visiting Canterbury and suroundings. As soon as I had spoken to the hosts, Debbie and Barry, over the phone to confirm our booking I already knew that we were goingto stay at a very special place run by very special people! And upon arrival this was only to be reaffirmed -a very freindly and warm hearted welcome. The house is spotless and very welcoming. Our three bedrooms were just right, all with very comfortable beds -especially good for bad backs, and all very stylishly decorated. Nothing ver the top. All done with great taste and style. And the healthy cooked breakfast? That was a treat too -abundant and delicious. The location of CArena House is walking distance from the city's historical centre. Parking facilities are very good. The perfect B&B if you are visiting Canterbury.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Wales
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

My husband, daughter and I stayed here for a long weekend. The location is great with a short walk into the town centre where there is a wide selection of shops and restaurants. Debbie who runs the B & B is very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The family room at the top of the house is clean and modern with a nice bathroom. There was a huge choice at breakfast including cereals, fruit, yoghurts and cooked breakfast for those with a bigger appetite. I would fully recommend this B & B and thought it was great value for money.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Swansea-Suzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knebworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Wonderful, clean and comfortable with a hearty English Breakfast. We had a twin room at the back of the house. Quiet away from the busy road. Parking on the road at the back of the house.
You can easily walk into the centre of Canterbury from the guest house. Lots of places to eat in the area. Would recommend staying here.
Free WiFi a big plus!

Room Tip: The twin room has the largest bathroom. The quieter rooms are at the back of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank easylacer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights in November 2011. Found Debbie, the owner, very welcoming and friendly. Rooms are good for the price. Location is good - a nice walk in to the city centre.
Breakfast is amazing :) Have stayed in a few B&Bs across the country and this is the best stay to date! Would definitely recommend staying here to anyone thinking of visiting Canterbury.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tweety26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.8 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,914 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
278 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#12 of 16 in Canterbury
394 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carena House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carena House B&B

Property: Carena House B&B
Address: 250 Wincheap, Canterbury CT1 3TY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Carena House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 En suite bedroomed Victorian terraced property. Family run business homely clean and comfortable. Hairdriers, toiletries and free wifi. We have free ample on street parking Leave your car and visit all the sites in beautiful Canterbury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Carena House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing