We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“would recommend to anyone” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carena House B&B

Carena House B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canterbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carena House B&B
Ranked #17 of 81 Canterbury B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“would recommend to anyone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2011

lovely place to stay. great breakfast and debbie couldnt do enough for us

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank helen1727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    22
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
29
16
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2011

Carena House provided convenient (10 - 15 minute pleasant walk to the Cathedral), quiet, attractive accommodations during our four day stay in Canterbury. As a safety/health inspector for lodgings/restaurants in the US, I was especially impressed with how well designed and maintained the Carena House was and how clean the kitchen was. Breakfast, by the way, was excellent! In addition, the host/owners, Debbie and Barry, are very knowledgeable of the area and are willing to provide guidance and suggestions about what to see and how to get there.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
18 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pease Pottage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2011

Debbie was lovely and helpful. The room was comfortable and the shower was nice and hot - much needed after long days of exploring.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Janine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Druento
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2010

We spent 4 nights at Carena house, guests of Debbie and her husband. We had spent a night there under the previous management and we were treated to the same level of kindness and firiendliness. Rooms are clean and spacious for a B&B. Bathroom is fully equipped with shampoo and conditioner. Just a short walk from Old Canterbury and well served by the local supermarket. If you intend to spend some time in Canterbury, do look up Carena House. It's well worth it!

Nitpick: small bathroom sink!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Francesca-Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2010

3 very pleasant stays in a truly friendly and welcoming house ! Attractive and quiet rooms. They've been converted to receive guests with a great deal of taste and thought, respecting modern requirements and period features (superb fireplaces) After our day's visits, we felt we came home.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Kipling45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

From the moment I contacted Debbie the landlady I knew I had found a great place to stay. She's a wonderful lady, so helpful, supportive (I was taking my son to Uni!) and a real character full of great stories and funny too! You feel so welcome the minute you enter the guest house. Lovely, cosy, very clean accommodation and so comfortable. You feel you are staying with a friend rather than a guest house. I was in Canterbury to take my son to Uni and right from the start knew I had found a special place to stay. Our twin room was light and very tastefully decorated as has kept Victorian features with fireplace with pretty tiles. Breakfast is delicious and nothing is a trouble to Debbie. I didnt meet Barry but my son said he was lovely to talk to and they both make you feel so welcome. I will ALWAYS want to stay there as its home from home but no housework!!! They are amazing hosts and cant thank them enough, especially Debbie for getting me through a very emotional time for a Mum, but made is so easy with her lovely nature. I would thoroughly recommend Carena House. A great find and feel I have made a good friend. Go and experience amazing hospitality. A real winner and jewel in Canterbury's crown!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank justjoyce3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2010

My mum and I stayed in this room while I was moving into my student accommodation for University and the service we got was second to none. Debbie (the owner) could not do enough for us, not only settling us in and managing to stay cheerful at 8:30 with a packed breakfast room but also providing us with genuine and immensly helpful local knowledge of the best - and cheapest - places to eat, taxis etc. The room is very comfortable and well equipped with a large TV, comfortable beds and most importnantly of all, a briliant en-suite bathroom! The house is right on a main road into Canterbury (though you can't hear the road at all) so even with my poor navigational skills we managed to find it! It's about a 15 minute walk into the centre which houses the bus station if anyones travelling to/from there and a 10 minute walk to Canterbury East train station. I would like to go on record stating that I am a cynical and jaded student who rarely has anything good to say and even I felt both welcomed and comfortable at this B&B! 5*!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
18 Thank trickme4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.8 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,747 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.9 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.4 mi away
Iffin Farmhouse
Iffin Farmhouse
#1 of 81 in Canterbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
1.4 mi away
Harriet House B&B
Harriet House B&B
#3 of 81 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carena House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carena House B&B

Property: Carena House B&B
Address: 250 Wincheap, Canterbury CT1 3TY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Carena House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 En suite bedroomed Victorian terraced property. Family run business homely clean and comfortable. Hairdriers, toiletries and free wifi. We have free ample on street parking Leave your car and visit all the sites in beautiful Canterbury. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing