We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant staff and surroundings, food standard pizza/pasta type” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pizza Express

Pizza Express
Ranked #156 of 361 Restaurants in Canterbury
Price range: $0 - $43
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bright and modern, PizzaExpress Canterbury offers an exciting reinvention of Italian classics. A vibrant menu includes wholesome Romana-style pizzas with adventurous topping combinations, as well as fresh salads, an impressive range behind the bar and aromatic coffee blends. Family-friendly Pizza Express gives kids the chance to design their own pizzas.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Pleasant staff and surroundings, food standard pizza/pasta type”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Very interesting building. Went as we had a vouchercode for 7 of us. We were seated in characterful out of the way area as correctly judged we could make out own entertainment and didn't need the buzz of the main restaurant. Sound pizza/pasta food,good value, and the helpful staff kindly adjusted the desserts as they had run out of one of the voucher code choices.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank CatherineBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    84
    54
    14
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
310 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Usually quite good, bit disappointed.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

We went here for a large work do. Around 20-25 of us went whilst the waitress was very good she seemed more interested in getting rid of us.
Are mains came out the minute our starters were cleared & the pizza looked like it had been under the heater for 10 minutes. The topping was limited to 1 piece of artichoke, pepper & olive per slice. It was really underwhelming.

I also hate the fact they add 10% service I like to tip what I think is suitable not what you think I should.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank amandamonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“nice food shame about the staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The usual menu and consistently good food, however today it took over 55 minutes from sitting down to getting our main course (with no starter). When I pointed this out because we were due at the theatre, instead of just apologising the staff said 'its actually only 45 minutes, its in the oven, haven't you got any olives left?' All they had to say was 'it wont be long, or ..we are busy tonight ... or sorry we'll be with you soon'. There was no attempt at a platitude or apology at all and the same attitude prevailed until we left.

It was a Wednesday evening and not a busy weekend. I was not rude -I have worked in restaurants so I know what that can be like, I merely pointed out our predicament and asked if our pizza was nearly ready. Other diners commented on the response we received and I have to say I have never experienced such arrogant staff and although I am usually a big fan of Pizza Express in other areas I probably will not go to the Canterbury branch again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MissPStLucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“regular customer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

hi, we are regular customers at the pizza express restaurant in canterbury . we have never had a bad meal there and the location is perfect, so central. the restaurant is located alongside the river stour and we always manage to get a table next to the window facing the river. service is always good. if i had to mention one issue, the male supervisor in our opinion looks scruffy, jeans hanging half way down his back. as it does not affect the quality of the food, we have never challenged it, but whenever he is working , both my wife and i comment to each other that he looks untidy. im sure some chosen words of advice from management would sort that. great restaurant and highly recommended . book if eating on thursday, fri or sat eve.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fraser775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Always Reliable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

I like to use independent restaurants and cafes but I'm increasingly getting poor food & service when I use them. I've been eating at Pizza Express for ever & I've & I've never had a bad meal.
The Canterbury Pizza Express is in a side street which you wouldn't stumble across. The service & food were excellent, I had Melanzane Parmigiana & polenta chips.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank curryking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza Express also viewed

 

Been to Pizza Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing