We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food - Indifferent Service”

Posillipo Ristorante Italiano
Ranked #39 of 367 Restaurants in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Childhood friends Enzo Espedito welcome you to a little taste of Napoli with Osteria Posillipo Pizzaria ��� quite likely one of Canterbury���s friendliest restaurants. Decorated in relaxing woods, this light, airy space has the added bonus of being located near the Marlowe Theatre. An in-house wood-fired stone oven is visible from the open-plan kitchen on the ground floor, allowing hungry diners watch their pizzas bubble away the traditional way. Not in the mood for pizza? Traditional Italian favourites are the name of the game here, including fresh, homemade pasta like spaghetti a vongole.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food - Indifferent Service”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Went here for a nice meal with my girlfirend. Have been to the Broadstairs one a few times so thought we would try this.

As always, lovely food. Great Starter, Great Main and Great Dessert. All at a very reasonable price. I can not fault this at all.

The only thing stopping this getting 5 stars was the contrast in service at points of the meal. The waitress' changed between service for us. Both were excellent, however our drinks, starter order and main order were taken and arrived very fast. It then took 20 minutes for somebody to even ask if we would like the desert menu after clearing out plates. Desert was speedy to come out, however another 20 minutes passed before the plate was taken, We then had to sak ourselves for the bill as nobody came over.

Whilst that was a slight annoyance, I would come back here as the food was fantastic. I think actually better than the Broadstairs branch.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Weasel_probably
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    125
    26
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Always good”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

I've always found the service friendly and efficient and the menu never disappoints. The food itself always has an authentic Italian feel to it and is reasonably priced.
The lunch special is good value and the pizzas are great.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GeoffSt65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

This is a really lovely authentic little Italian restaurant. I came here for a birthday meal with my boyfriend. The atmosphere was lovely. The food was beautiful and the service was great too. On top of this, it came to a very reasonable price, especially for two students.

Would definitely recommend!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sheilaghs-wheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We were very surprised by our visit to Posillipo, after reading so many fantastic reviews online and a recommendation from a friend. We went for dinner to celebrate a birthday, and had a table in the window. The table was covered in sticky residue, and despite the restaurant being almost empty (7pm on a Thursday evening), we were sat less than half a meter from a loud table of four. The food was nothing more than average and the service left a lot to be desired. Not even a 'Happy Birthday' from staff, despite them knowing it was a special birthday. Canterbury has many Italian restaurants and from my experience, you will find better food, quality and service elsewhere.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank MattB24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best Italian in Canterbury”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Have visited a several times in the last couple of years both as a couple and with friends. The food has always been excellent, they have a recurring special as a starter of scallops wrapped in Parma ham with a creamy brandy sauce, absolutely stunning. The bistecca is lovely and the pizzas from a (I presume) very hot wood fired oven are great, the tomato sauce the toppings and the mozzarella is all top notch. The waitresses are always very pleasant and efficient, but the other staff have been thoroughly welcoming on some occasions and not so much on others, a bit odd really (especially when part of a group), but not enough to put you off going for the great food. The only other slight downside is that it is a bit pricey for the area, but the only other decent Italian in Canterbury is even more so (Pinocchios, also great food, just not quite as good). Expect to part with £70/80 for 2 inc wine and tip. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Madrileno_Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Posillipo Ristorante Italiano also viewed

 

Been to Posillipo Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing