We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty standard Italian eatery”

Posillipo Ristorante Italiano
Ranked #35 of 364 Restaurants in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Childhood friends Enzo Espedito welcome you to a little taste of Napoli with Osteria Posillipo Pizzaria ��� quite likely one of Canterbury���s friendliest restaurants. Decorated in relaxing woods, this light, airy space has the added bonus of being located near the Marlowe Theatre. An in-house wood-fired stone oven is visible from the open-plan kitchen on the ground floor, allowing hungry diners watch their pizzas bubble away the traditional way. Not in the mood for pizza? Traditional Italian favourites are the name of the game here, including fresh, homemade pasta like spaghetti a vongole.
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Pretty standard Italian eatery”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

Nothing to impress us on our visit, unfortunately. The (bean and cherry tomato) soup of the day lacked any real depth or flavour - no stock of substance to the dish. Insalata Caprese was unexciting with bland mozarella. The gamberoni served with linguine were cooked to a mush. Primitivo wine was good. Service was OK. I imagine there must be a better Italian restaurant in Canterbury.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank fatherdoo2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    125
    26
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Never disappoints”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

We're regulars here, and we have never had a bad meal. We've been to the other restaurants as well and the food is as good there as it is here. Friendly staff and the pizzas....coming from an Italian family I can safely say they are the best outside of Italy!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

Good food very friendly staff and good service,no complaints well worth a visit. You will need to book at weekends try the steak.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Our favourite Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

we are regulars to Posillipos and I've already been probably 10 times over the past three years. Their food is really great. I have never had a disappointing meal here. The pastas are fresh tasty and hearty, their wood oven baked pizzas are fantastic - as my Italian friends say- just like at home. I think this is the place Italians actually go to for proper Italian food, so need I say more?
This place is also fantastic for group events as well (been twice as a larger group and their service was quick reliable and very friendly).

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveling E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Found this place by looking on Tripadvisor! It was buzzing at 8.00pm on Saturday evening. Delicious food. We both started with Rocket, Parma Ham and Parmesan cheese shavings with balsamic vinegar. The rocket was fresh, the parma ham was very good quality as was the cheese. The portion looked generous, but was not over filling as we needed room for my superb spaghetti alla vongole and my friends meatballs in tomato sauce with spinach was delicious. We watched this down with a bottle of good house wine, and instead of dessert we had a large brandy and large Baileys. Tap water was provided and the bill was just £60 (plus service) which we thought was very good value for money - this is a must eat at place in Canterbury.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Posillipo Ristorante Italiano also viewed

 

Been to Posillipo Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing