We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"pretty much perfect in every way!"”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isles of Scilly
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Samson Hill Cottage
Ranked #27 of 40 Isles of Scilly B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"pretty much perfect in every way!"”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Samson Hill Cottage is pretty much perfect in every way! We stayed for four nights and the location and view is unbeatable: you can sit outside on the terrace and look out onto the beautiful blue sea at sunset as you eat one of Issy and Gareth’s delicious pizzas!

Samson Hill is perfectly decorated, impeccably clean yet very homely. Best of all, Issy and Gareth are such lovely people, who make you feel really welcome, and excellent cooks to boot (the breakfasts are so good!). I would recommend anyone thinking about a holiday on the Isles of Scilly to come and stay here!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saffront
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issy T, Manager at Samson Hill Cottage, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
We really appreciate your lovely words about your stay at Samson Hill Cottage. It's lovely to hear comments especially about the decor. We've worked really hard to make it as welcoming and comfortable as possible.

We're glad you enjoyed the patio! It's the perfect place to watch the world (and the boats) go by.

You are welcome anytime.

Issy and Gareth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
31
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Samson Hill Cottage is simply heavenly! The location is very beautiful (our room looked over 'the channel' - an often turquoise strip of water which separates the distant Tresco, with its lovely white sand beaches and its pretty cottages, from its slightly wilder neighbour Bryher - a view that you could never tire of); the house itself has been built to a very high standard and furnished with the utmost care - our room could not be faulted: great shower, very comfy bed with high quality linen, coffee machine, tv etc, every detail has been attended to; and if we wanted a change, the sitting room offered a very luxurious alternative. Our hosts for the week, Issy and Gareth, cannot be praised too highly! Their welcome was so warm and they were always so helpful, willing and upliftingly cheerful. The breakfasts were the best I have had in any guest accommodation that I have stayed in, surprisingly innovative and supporting local producers/suppliers where possible, and always beautifully served. Not only that, but a delicious cake or savoury would always find its way into our room during the day. NB Pizza nights should not be missed.
My wife and I have stayed on Bryher 13 or 14 times - this was our first time off the campsite, Samson Hill Cottage (and Bryher with its beautiful walks) did not disappoint! Thank you so much Issy and Gareth, we wish you all the best and certainly hope to make a return visit!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BazzaIOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issy T, Manager at Samson Hill Cottage, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
BazzaIOM

Thank you so much for such a glowing review of the guest house. We loved having you to stay and you are most welcome anytime.

We're so glad you enjoyed using the facilities like the sitting room. It's stocked with books, games and a big TV so our guests feel at home if they want to leave their rooms.

Please pop in next time you are camping!

Issy and Gareth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Samson hill combines the best of everything.Its friendly and cosy like a family run b&b while also being very luxurious like the best 5* hotels. Issy and Gareth are charming and helpful hosts, nothing is too much trouble. The food is fantastic,composed of the finest local ingredients so as well as tasting terrific it satisfies the green avenger and the foodie in all of us.Our room had stunning views that we could enjoy while still lounging in bed.Shower was awesome as was the well appointed lounge complete with wood burner which made it really homely on a november sunday afternoon.I will be recommending Samson Hill to anyone and everyone who shows interest in holidaying in the isles of scilly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doesnteatfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issy T, Manager at Samson Hill Cottage, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
We can't thank you enough for leaving such a kind review. It was lovely to welcome guests from Scilly.

We're glad you enjoyed the sitting room and the wood burner. We always try to have it going in the colder months so you can curl up near the fire with a good book and a glass of wine.

Issy and Gareth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

have just returned from a week here and already missing the cottage and everything about it!

this is somewhere that exceeds expectations and Issy & Gareth are wonderful hosts. the location is ideal and the food provided by Issy is out of this world. nothing was too much trouble and Emma & i had a wonderful stay. we are already booked for next year! do take advantage of the Pizzas from the wood fired oven in the garden!

Room Tip: the larger of the 2 rooms has a private terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issy T, Manager at Samson Hill Cottage, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
John

Thank you for taking the time to write a review so quickly after your stay.we are delighted that you had such a good time and booked again for next year. It is such a compliment.

See you in 2013.

Issy and Gareth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Don't you sometimes look at a person and think that s/he's taken the best of both parents? Samson Hill Cottage is as posh as a five star hotel and as personal as a B&B. Everything about the place is classy - the rooms, the toiletries, the little personal touches...the couple running it do it with a passion.

Do not miss the dinner at the place.

And the location is great, the views are stunning. I sat by the window and got over my writer's block :-)

Room Tip: Ask for the room in the front - the ocean facing one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnvyNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issy T, Manager at Samson Hill Cottage, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us even though it was a short visit. You were fantastic guests and we hope to see you again!

Issy and Gareth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We spent 2 nights at Samson Hill cottage and wishes we could have spent more! I completely echo the sentiments of the other people who have taken the trouble to compliment Gareth and Issy on creating such a wonderful isalnd experience. Bryher is a beautiful place and we will be returning for our honeymoon here! Gareth and Issy and wonderful hosts, and the front room is beautiful, especially sitting out on the patio with a hot chocolate watching he world go slowly by. Thanks for looking after us so well!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issy T, Manager at Samson Hill Cottage, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your two night stay earlier this year. We are pleased it was everything you hoped and look forward to seeing you again when you honeymoon!

Issy and Gareth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We had a fabulous stay, Issy and Gareth were the perfect hosts. Issy is a wonderful cook and together they have created a little piece of heaven which in itself is something on a very special island that I would rate as one of my top destinations. We just could not fault it in any way. The cottage has been lovingly and stylishly furnished with attention to detail without over doing anything. When asked one day what sort of day he had had , our son said "this has been the best day of my life, I want to be a Bryher boy". Thanks to our stay in Samson Hill it will be a holiday we will never forget.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catherine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issy T, Manager at Samson Hill Cottage, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We loved welcoming you to Samson Hill Cottage and your card last week made our day. Hopefully we will see you both and your 'bryher boy' another year.

Issy and Gareth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isles of Scilly hotels
0.0 mi away
Karma St. Martin's
Karma St. Martin's
#1 of 1 in St Martin's
299 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tregarthen's Hotel
Tregarthen's Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hugh Town
290 reviews
0.0 mi away
St. Mary's Hall Hotel
St. Mary's Hall Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Mary's
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Colossus
Colossus
#11 of 35 in St Mary's
105 reviews
0.0 mi away
Star Castle
Star Castle
#2 of 6 in St Mary's
451 reviews
0.0 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 6 in St Mary's
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samson Hill Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samson Hill Cottage

Property: Samson Hill Cottage
Address: Samson Hill Cottage Samson Hill, TR23 0PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isles of Scilly
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Isles of Scilly
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an eco friendly escape with the most spectacular panoramic views you can imagine. We're a secluded bed and breakfast with delicious locally sorced food. Dinner available Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing