We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Small but perfect”

Review of Woodside Lodge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living area Kitchen area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Living area
Kitchen area
Lounge through to bedroom
Bedroom
Shower Room
Bedroom
Path to Lodge
Early morning stroll
Morning view along Woodside Beach
Sunrise at Woodside
Frequent visitors to the garden
Woodside Beach towards Ryde
Woodside Beach towards Cowes
Fishing off Woodside Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Helen-999...
Stockton on Tees
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Small but perfect”
Reviewed August 29, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

On arrival we first wondered where we were going to put all of our things into the small cabin, but once we were unpacked all was fine. There is a bedroom with two pine single beds, a wardrobe and a chest of drawers, there is also space under one of the beds, and drawers under one bed.
The other room is the kitchen/diner/living area, again compact but fine for us two adults and our dog. There is only a two seater settee for sitting on (apart from chairs at the table).
Contents of the cabin were of a high standard, bedding, towels, crockery etc.
The garden is lovely, grassy area surrounded by trees giving complete privacy, large decked area with comfy seating, another table and chairs on the grass for the morning sun. Bird feeders attracted lots of birds and red squirrels much to our dogs delight and ours!
Location is great, a stones throw from a beach for walking the dog. There are no pubs in close walking distance, however there is a restaurant/bar on the next door site which has cabins for rent (it was very quiet)
The Isle of Wight is small anyway so everything was within driving distance.
If I visited the island again I would stay here. Owners lovely too.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 31, 2017
Thank you for your kind comments. We always try to keep our cabins maintained to a high standard and appreciate your comments.
We have been looking at ways of including additional seating in the Living Area.
If you visit the island again we look forward to seeing you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline T
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed July 25, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The owners Debra and Steve have made the accommodation extremely comfortable both inside and out. The one bedroom lodge is small but more than adequate for two adults and our two small dogs, the bonus is the wonderful garden and the wildlife that joined us. Both Debra and Steve supply everything you could possibly need for a self catering holiday, including tea coffee milk sugar biscuits and orange juice on arrival. Biggest disappointment was having to leave.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 25, 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and got to appreciate all the varied wildlife we have in our garden.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoack
1 review
“A little small”
Reviewed April 15, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Although we enjoyed our stay at woodside lodge it did seem a bit of a squeeze. We are a couple and it would have been quite cramped for a family.
Saying that the outside space was lovely and had nice chairs with comfy cushions. The garden is a great space with wild birds feeding and an abundance of red squirrels.
We found the bed settee a bit uncomfortable to sit on for any length of time.
The lane leading down to the woodside beach retreat has a lodge park on the right which I wasn't expecting; you turn left to get to the two woodside beach retreat lodges and once in the gardens you feel very private.
The beach is mainly shingle with a bit of sand and was allways very quiet and peaceful.

Jill and john (surrey)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 16, 2017
Thank you for your kind comments. We usually find two people staying in the Lodge are more than happy with the space available, and we do have families of four staying without any problem. We always make it clear that there is only one bedroom plus a sofa bed in the living area. There is also the larger cabin 'Woodside Beach Retreat' for the additional bedroom and the extra bit of space.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lara B
Leighton Buzzard
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Peaceful location, ideal for young families.”
Reviewed August 25, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We have just returned from a wonderful family holiday at Woodside Lodge. We found the cabin clean and very well equipped, and what an incredible location - 2 minutes from the beach and a wonderfully peaceful enclosed garden.
Whilst the cabin is fairly small, it was ideal for a young family of 4, with our children staying in the bedroom and the adults on the sofa bed. There was plenty of storage for our clothes and Debbie and Steve had thought of almost everything for our stay, including tea, coffee, milk and biscuits on arrival!
We made the most of the outdoor space and the great weather, eating on the terrace every day and watching the wildlife which is in abundance in the beautiful garden.
We would definitely recommend the lodge and would love to return one day!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 27, 2016
Always good to hear our guests have enjoyed their stay.
Thank you for your kind comments and the positive feedback. Look forward to welcoming you again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geraldine...
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nice garden but cabin to small”
Reviewed July 4, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The garden was lovely,but the cabin was very small,I'm not quite sure what is meant by elderly access as there were no hand rails in place .The beds were comfortable,but not much room .

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 9, 2016
We are sorry you found the cabin too small for your liking. We understand you found it difficult due to your disability. We ourselves have never advertised our cabin as being adapted for people with disabilities or wheelchairs.
Many people have used it with no problem, including groups of four. Access for the elderly has never been an issue, and we have a number of elderly visitors who have returned and recommended it as suitable.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N2800ZDpa...
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
“A very relaxed happy five days.”
Reviewed May 15, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We would recommend this accommodation to anyone who just wants to relax and chill out, plenty to do and see in the area if that's what you want, if not, you can just relax, lovely walks on beach with dogs or children collecting shells. Owners are a fantastic couple very helpful and make you feel really welcome. Definitely will book again in near future.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 18, 2016
Thank you for your kind comments. It was lovely to meet you, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelin B
1 review
“Peaceful garden full of squirrels and birds”
Reviewed March 31, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This place was really nice surprise; clean and peacefully located, the own garden was a plus and it was fun to look at the red squirrels climbing the trees and follow different kinds of birds. Short walk to a beach and nice terrace. The owners were really nice and helpful. The cottage was warm and cosy, a bit small for 4 persons but managed well. Will visit again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful location, friendly owners
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 12, 2016
Hi Adelin
Thank you for the lovely comments we look forward to welcoming you some time in the future. We do also have our larger cabin Woodside Beach Retreat which has an additional bedroom.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing