We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Afternoon Tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of St Michael's Manor

St Michael's Manor
Ranked #74 of 325 Restaurants in St. Albans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $92
Cuisines: Contemporary, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our beautiful orangery-style Lake Restaurant offers amazing views overlooking our fabulous garden and lake. Two rosette dining at it's best. Offering a range of award winning modern British cuisine to suit all tastes, diners can choose from an A La Carte or Lake menu. The latter provides brasserie-style seasonal food, changed on a fortnightly basis from only £18 for two or £22 for three courses. A wonderful place to celebrate and very popular for Sunday lunch. Great to relax and enjoy a delicious meal with probably the best views and location in Hertfordshire. The Lake Restaurant opens daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Otherwise try a bar snack or one of our famous Afternoon teas in the hotel lounge.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Wonderful experience for a special birthday afternoon tea, sumptious sandwiches, cakes, and scones and plenty for all four of us. Relaxed atmosphere, excellent value for money and staff non intrusive. Book in advance. Can't wait to go again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maria63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    55
    29
    20
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent relaxing lunch, very good service”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Four of us had lunch there yesterday. We were well pleased with the food, its presentation and the excellent service received. I wish there were more restaurants like this.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fourpence4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“really awful Sunday lunch at £35 a head!”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

My man took me to St Michaels Manor, St Albans on Sunday 2 March for a treat. I was a bit reluctant having had a terrible time there a few years previously. The lounge prior to lunch was perfect, the staff lovely, the food appalling! The soup was bland, the roast beef arrived cold and on cold plates, we sent it back... it returned on hot plates, two slabs of chewy beef, four bits of potatoe cut from one normal sized one, one small bit of brocolli, one small bit of cauliflower and four matchstick sized carrots - £35 each, really. Gravy, horseradish and mustard, superb though! Cheesecake was tasteless - like the Green's mix we made years ago - I left it and no-one said a thing. Never again...

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank ladyc1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Very posh, but really nice!”
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Took my grandmother here for afternoon tea, and was recommended here. I haven't lived in St. Albans long, so was glad of the tip! The building itself is beautiful, with stunning views of the lake and the interior is really pretty. The afternoon tea itself wasn't the best I'd had but it was a nice spread and the waiter was really friendly and knowledgeable. A little expensive, but you get what you pay for. Worth a visit

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wearetheocean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A wonderful Sunday lunch.”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Once again I went to dine at the St Michaels Manor Restaurant in St Albans ( Hertfordshire) & once again I was delighted . The welcome , the decor & atmosphere , the service and last but by no means least , the wonderful food made it a memorable meal and afternoon. Winter or summer , it is a delightful place to visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnhey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St Michael's Manor also viewed

St. Albans, Hertfordshire
St. Albans, Hertfordshire
 
St. Albans, Hertfordshire
 

Been to St Michael's Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing