We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No pride on the plate” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Restaurant at Sopwell House

The Restaurant at Sopwell House
Ranked #62 of 324 Restaurants in St. Albans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $44 - $75
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Restaurant at Sopwell House is located in a stunning Georgian country house in St Albans. With its high ceilings and classic, sleek decor and AA Rosette award-winning status, The Restaurant serves modern British and European cuisine. Opening Hours: Lunch: 12:30pm to 3:00pm on Sunday, Wednesday & Friday. Dinner: 7:00pm to 9.30Pm on Wednesday, Thursday, Friday & Saturday.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“No pride on the plate”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Just had a vert poor experience in the restaurant at Sopwell house, albeit an excellent waitress saved the first course from complaint.
The salad nicoise was a sad looking salad with a bit of tuna tossed on the top. The waitress recovered it with olives & fresh anchovies. We waited 25 minutes for a sponge dessert which was cold but we decided to eat it as we complained about the main meal. Then my cheese & biscuits turned up with an apology for being late. It cost £7.50 & consisted of 3 tiny bits of cheese, 4 cheap biscuits, a few grapes and sad looking celery. We had to send it back but felt bad as the waiters were clearly talking about us. Looking at the presentation of this food it should never had left the kitchen in that state. Very disappointing as the hotel & spa are excellent, but the food lets it down

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Delores50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    47
    28
    22
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent! You couldn't go wrong with this restuarant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

You couldn't go wrong with this restaurant. Great views, comfortable place, great ambiance and ideal for an intimate meal or for a sit-down with a group of friends. I would definitely visit again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank blah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
260 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Our afternoon tea was a real treat. Excellent sandwiches with fillings that you could recognise and taste; very good scones and delightful cakes. Teapot was filled up without having to ask and service was great. A very relaxing and tasty tea. Well worth the visit. Good value too.

Helpful?
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“One of the best meals I had in a long time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Very small portions, and I was hungry one hour later. But I can sincerely say that it was the best meals I have had in a long time.
Had dinner there, some pasta dish and fish. The next day i went back for lunch, and I just wanted to stay and eat and eat. It was a buffet and I loved some fish dish.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank N2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sopwell House, St Albans, Brasserie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Delightfull self service (Fixed price including coffees) or a la carte menu, with views into the garden or the spa - drinks extra, in this luxurious hotel, formerly a residence of Lord Mountbatten. The hall leading to the restaurants (Brasserie and Restaurant) and the Spa is lined with framed pictures of national football teams that have stayed at the hotel over the years prior to international matches at Wembley. The food is excellent, as is the laid back but attentive service. Good for families, families, couples, groups of friends -- everyone. Dress is casual, as you would expect when some diners come straight from the Spa in their towelling robes to put back the weight they have lost in the morning/afternoon sessions.
We, (my wife and I) go there often with friends and family and have never been disappointed. Sometimes, there are special offers, so check out on the internet before booking to see if there is a coupon to use - it is worth it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Peehen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Restaurant at Sopwell House also viewed

St. Albans, Hertfordshire
 
St. Albans, Hertfordshire
 
St. Albans, Hertfordshire
St. Albans, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Restaurant at Sopwell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing