We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in St. Albans
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
156 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

We decided to break our M1 journey north and called in to this restaurant for lunch. It is in such a lovely setting and so unexpected! Really old building with the mill wheel working. We had a good lunch and I had the best banoffee pie to finish!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    208
    74
    28
    20
See reviews for
266
175
13
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trowbridge Wiltshire
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

Surrounded by play area, ducks, geese, gardens and trees, and the M25. Ideal stopover even if you are not a Harry Potter fan, clean tidy and quirky interesting dining in a working mill at the adjacent Beefeater restaurant, Huge breakfast for £9 and children eat free of charge.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vexillologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

We have stayed at many Premier Inns but I have to say that this one has a lovely setting with water and ducks and large are to sit outside with a drink or lunch. The location is perfect for visiting The Harry Potter Tour. Also ideal to park up at Stanmore station and go into London. St Albans itself has lots of restaurants and pizza places as well as shops such as Jack Wills, Phase 8 etc.The family rooms are ideal with.a large single bed. The food in the restaurant is good with a varied menu and at breakfast you can choose exactly what you want made to order. We will definitely be back and would recommend.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Audrey149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

Very nice out of the way Premier in, in a pretty location, but close to the M1 for convenience. Very clean and modern and good breakfast at the Beefeater next door. Me and my colleages stayed here, for a comopnay function nearby. We were really pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Be careful of the directions, I received sat Nav coordinates from Premier Inn and they sent me to a location on the M25 motorway. Found that pretty funny to be honest. Stayed here due to proximity to Harry Potter tour. Didn't expect such a pleasant hotel in a terrific location.

The window was already open in our room but we wanted to close it as it was a cool night. The window would not close and when we inspected it, we saw that it was broken and could not be closed. We noticed the next morning that a lot of the windows were open, maybe just a coincidence.

Watch out if you want an evening meal. We only wanted a snack but the restaurant was slammed. The greeting wasnt the friendliest and they were put out that we had not booked. Be warned.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Quiet_n_Warm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robina, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

It was a lovely twist on the usual Premier Inn experience at Bricket Wood. The hotel in the room is identical to every other premier inn I've ever been in. The way it is organised is the same as well, and they have the same good night guarantee.

It differs in its beautiful setting, and the attached restaurant is a beefeater grill in a working water mill.

The road links are good, just off the M25 and not far from the M1.

Beds are standard P.I. firm.

In the Annex (which is where we stayed) which is apart from the main building has about 8 rooms and the room doors are a bit thin and the noise from the corridor is easily heard. However there were no disturbances until morning by which time we were well up.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kruft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

I stayed for one night following a wedding in the area. Room was clean and bed comfortable. The bathroom was really dated and needs up grading as there was ingrained dirt which you wouldn't be able to clean normally. The grout between the tiles was loose and it looked grubby.
The staff on reception were friendly and helpful.
We hadn't booked breakfast which was lucky as there was a 45 minute wait. The waitress looked stressed so we went into town and got something there.
Nice setting ok for a nights sleep.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AuntieTravellingKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Albans
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn St Albans City Centre Hotel
2.8 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Albans - M25, Jct. 22
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 9 in St. Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,074 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel

Property: Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel
Address: Smug Oak Lane | Watling Street, Bricket Wood, St. Albans AL2 3PN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St. Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in St. Albans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A rural spot just a few miles outside St Albans, handy for The Making of Harry Potter Tour ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn St Albans / Bricket Wood Hotel St. Albans
Premier Inn Saint Albans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing