We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over night stay to Harry potter world” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in St. Albans
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Over night stay to Harry potter world”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Lovely location, very pleasant staff , great restaurant, would highly recommend , near the motorway, but you can't hear the noise when your in the room.would definately stay here again. The only complaint would be the mattress was very soft, and the television was really small.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandyholly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    204
    72
    28
    20
See reviews for
261
173
13
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is a lovely quiet premier inn out in the country , easy to miss as it is set back from the road down a drive.
There is a brook running through the grounds, stand on the little wooden bridge to see the fish. Lots of ducks on the banks, and a large play area,lovely for children.
Beefeater restaurant on site situated in a converted mill with a working water wheel inside. Breakfast not the normal buffet style but cooked fresh to order so no dried up food.
Would also recommend the evening meal but make sure you book in advance , as it is very popular with the locals.
Approx 8 miles from Stanmore tube station which gets you in to London within 30 mins.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We used this hotel as a base to visit London, as it is a short cab ride from the line that goes to Blackfriars Station. The staff were fantastic, the hotel clean and comfortable and the bar/restaurant area has great character and a large working waterwheel which had my three boys fascinated.Despite being right next to the M25 there is barely any traffic noise. The only criticisms were that the room got VERY hot at night, aircon would have been a lifesaver and the shower was rubbish, but I'm sure these are easily rectifiable and we will definitely be back in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

I like premier inns anyway but like this one the best, location excellent. Really nice surroundings.
Pleasant restaurant nearby. only gripe would be the cooked breakfast which wasn't buffet which my husband prefers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex40Alex40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

I have stayed here several times in the last 2 months and I love it. I don't find it noisy at night, you can hear the M25 but it isn't a bother. Staff are helpful and friendly, the beer garden and pond are delightful and the food in the pub is great.

Helpful?
Thank RedFraggle73
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Natalia P, General Manager at Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Many thanks for your review. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay, and for this reason your feedback is very much appreciated as we endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customer’s needs. We're glad that you found our staff helpful and we will pass on the messages regarding how great you found the food to the restaurant. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Noise of road was horrendous at night. No sleep at all. Staff were not bothered. I also had to ask for more towels. As they had only left one for a double occupancy room. You have to Wat at a beefeater next door for all meals. Cost me £46, for a horrible dinner!!! And unfriendly staff. It looks nice online and it looks nice when you get there but it's not!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalia P, General Manager at Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for your review. It really matters to us that our guests have a comfortable nights sleep, and we sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Our staff are there to help you as much as possible, so I apologise that you do not believe they were as helpful as they could have been. Please be assured that all your feedback is very important to us as we endeavour to meet all our customer’s needs. We will pass on your comments regarding the restaurant to the Manager at the Beefeater.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is the 3rd time I have stayed in a premier inn and once again I was very impressed with the level of service and the quality of the rooms. We used this hotel as a base for us to visit London, but be away from the hustle and bustle, and then to visit The Harry Potter studios. It was a perfect location for both.

This hotel is set in a lovely location, with a Beef Eater pub right next door. We stayed in a lovely, clean, family room (2 adults, 2 children and a baby) which was a really good size, The staff on reception were nice and helpful.

The restaurant opposite was fantastic. We enjoyed a lovely evening meal there, as well as a fantastic breakfast the following day.

Cannot fault this place at all and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 186402Jenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalia P, General Manager at Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Many thanks for your review. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay, and for this reason your feedback regarding location and the surrounding area is very much appreciated. We are glad that you found our service and rooms to be the correct standard that Premier Inn aim for. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Albans
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn St Albans City Centre Hotel
3.0 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Albans - M25, Jct. 22
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
2.1 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 9 in St. Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel

Property: Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel
Address: Smug Oak Lane | Watling Street, Bricket Wood, St. Albans AL2 3PN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St. Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in St. Albans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A rural spot just a few miles outside St Albans, handy for The Making of Harry Potter Tour ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and Booking.com so you can book your Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn St Albans / Bricket Wood Hotel St. Albans
Premier Inn Saint Albans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing