We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Avalon House B & B
Ranked #14 of 15 St. Albans B&B and Inns
Chepstow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good B&B”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed there with friends for 2 nights in two double rooms - intended only to eat breakfast and sleep there as we had planned to go to London each day. Nice and helpful staff - the manager and chef. Clean and nicely decorated rooms, very clean bathrooms, comfortable beds (we all slept like babies :) ). Our friends also liked the place. English breakfast is not what we like, but there were no problems with ordering food to our taste. Secure parking place. A good B&B to stay in. Will definitely consider in first place if coming back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anndab7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theavalonhousehotel, General Manager at The Avalon House B & B, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    15
    4
    8
    7
See reviews for
9
5
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Two day visit,room was so nice,bright and clean,breakfast was huge and the staff brilliant 5 stars from me and mum.Would definitely stay at the Avalon again if needed to come down again.Got a great stay.

Room Tip: Stay here well worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hezie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theavalonhousehotel, General Manager at The Avalon House B & B, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review and Im really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

An absolute shoebox of a room, cold and unwelcoming. Quite overpriced for what you get. Disinterested proprietor. Instant coffee for breakfast although the cooked breakfast was acceptable. Car parking.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiefCynicist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottBiggans, General Manager at The Avalon House B & B, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
The single room is a normal sized single room like in any other property,The price is the cheapest of all hotels and b/bs in the area if you check this through any of the internet sites.
The Manager that checked you in was ill that evening and this was mentioned to you.Instant Coffee is what guests have asked for here over the years but we now also have ground coffee available.Im glad you liked our cooked breakfast and this will be passed onto the team member.
If you have any issues with your stay you should of mentioned it to one of the duty managers available 24 hours a day.
Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. Albans hotels

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I got a bit of a strange vibe when I checked in. It was very "matter of fact" and not particularly welcoming. It's also a bus/taxi ride away from St. Albans city centre, so isn't very well placed either. Quite honestly, I thought the slightly cheaper rates were due to location, rather than a lack of quality, but I was mistaken.

The room itself was very pleasant. Decor fresh and inoffensive, bed comfortable enough, clean bathroom and decent shower. However, there were communal cooking facilities in the corridor outside, causing very unpleasant smells and the other residents were very noisy. I had to yell for someone to shut up banging around and playing music loudly after 1am in the morning in the room above mine. All I wanted was a decent night's sleep after going to a gig in St. Albans, but was woken intermittently by other guests again from 6.30am onwards - the soundproofing is terrible, near non-existent. I ended up feeling so tired that I skipped the breakfast I'd pre-paid for just so that I could try to sleep as long as I could. All in all, I don't think the £50 I paid for one night at The Avalon was very good value at all.

There is potential for this to be a nice place, but it needs a complete re-think of what they allow in terms of guest behaviour and quite a lot of money spent of making it more welcoming and comfortable overall. There is no way on Earth I would contemplate coming back here again.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel. If you DO ignore my advice, then make sure you avoid any room on the ground fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffLynnesBeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theavalonhousehotel, General Manager at The Avalon House B & B, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Sir,
I am sorry that you have had to leave such review, We have a management team on duty 24hours a day in which had you brought to our attention then we would of dealt with or moved you to a different bedroom. As for the microwave on the ground floor this has been re allocated elsewhere.We have already spent alot of money on the grounds with new signs, new lighting etc., In the main building has just had new tiling, newly decorated hallways, rooms are all refurbished and new stairway carpet in awaiting to be fitted in the next week and many more things ongoing.
Thank you for your review and I can only apologise that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Lets agree here...place is undergoing a refurb but it is clean, affordable and has excellent availability to commuting links. The manager Scott works hard to accommodate you to the best of his ability. The new owners are working hard on redecorating, advertising and marketing the hotel. Its a friendly establishment which will work with you to accommodate your needs, breakfast is lovely with enough choice, dining room in large conservatory overlooking a very large well kept garden. There was plenty of parking spaces, hot water, fresh bedding, decent food and a welcoming smile. It was affordable and the manager had good knowledge of the area and was very approachable. Who needs 5 star prices when a homely experience is much more enjoyed. Well done Avalon, I had a lovely time and I still have money in my pocket.

Room Tip: No pool..no Gym but all round bargain sleep over.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theavalonhousehotel, Manager at The Avalon House B & B, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review & look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This place is marketed as a hotel, but is a dingy B&B with rubbish facilities. The lobby and stairs to our room had very poor decor, threadbare carpets and smelt of stale cigarette smoke. The room was dingy and in very poor decor. The bathroom was of a very low standard, with a basic shower and a broken shower screen that was dangerous. This room was worth £40 per night at best, not the extortionate amount we paid for it!!!! The guy on the front desk, was at least polite and acknowledged the points we complained about as being fair. Not a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Good luck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottBiggans, General Manager at The Avalon House B & B, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for your comments we already discussed this on check out and it was explained to you and will explain it again that the property is undergoing refurbishment and the carpet on the stairs will be done at the the end of the refurbishment, I also explained that the room you are in is next on the list from 26th august,There was no smell of smoke in the room found as we checked it as soon as you left and just after you left our engineer came to sort the shower door in which it was said it looks like its been pulled off as shower screens dont just come off on there own. I spoke to you after checking with my owners who were on site at the time and discount was given, as you came through a third party we couldent do anything else. thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
216 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

The man serving as proprietor was more than a little absent-minded. While we were seated in the lounge area, he both reported a mate as missing to the police and lost a new (to him) cat under the freezer.
Our room was clean but overcrowded (literally 1' of space to exit from the far bed in the event of fire), while the stairs up to the room were carpeted in a threadbare blue. The neighborhood was very urban, though there was a big back yard. The best feature of the house was the dining area for breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah_the_F00die
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottBiggans, General Manager at The Avalon House B & B, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Please get your facts correct before placing comments on here as noone of your comments are in fact true, The cat dident belong me or the hotel but had came in and we couldent find it and also it was a guest that had checked in a lady in her 70"s with memory problems that was reported to the police.
The property is now under new ownership and a refurbishment plan is ongoing. thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Albans hotels
1.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn St Albans City Centre Hotel
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Albans - M25, Jct. 22
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St. Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,111 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ardmore House
Ardmore House
#7 of 10 in St. Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
1.6 mi away
St Michael's Manor Hotel
St Michael's Manor Hotel
#5 of 10 in St. Albans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Avalon House B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avalon House B & B

Property: The Avalon House B & B
Address: 260 London Road, St. Albans AL1 1TJ, England (Formerly The Avalon House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St. Albans
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in St. Albans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Avalon House B & B 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 15 bedroom hostel in St Albans - this is a room-only property, however there is a residents' kitchen which guests have full use of. 24 hour on-call duty manager with 24 hour CCTV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Avalon House B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing