We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent pub food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Six Bells

The Six Bells
Reserve with OpenTable
The Six Bells is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #62 of 323 Restaurants in St. Albans
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Great pub in the centre of St. Michaels village offering everything one would want from a "local". Can't believe it's not one unless the owners have requested so.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Excellent pub food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were a large group and no one found fault with any of the dishes they had ordered. Due to the size of our group the food took a little while to arrive but when it did it was nicely presented and piping hot. Excellent pub food, in a nice friendly little pub. I expect it could get quite busy at peak times, but we had booked in advance so there were no problems about fitting us all in. Would love to go again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LongWeekender35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    57
    10
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boxmoor
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Olde worlde night out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Great historical pub, near the park and in the very pretty conservation area of St Albans. Have been here a few times and never disappoints.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirande, France
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lucky encounter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

First time visitors to St. Albans, we asked a man in the street with two kids if he could recommend a local pub.
"You can't go wrong with the Six Bells," he said. "It's just around the corner."
How right he was! A charming, welcoming establishment that is also 'dog friendly'. That alone gives it stars in my book.
The barmaids were smiling and helpful. It was already crowded but they managed to get us a table to eat, knowing exactly when the people who had reserved it would want it. It gave us plenty of time to have a drink, order and thoroughly enjoy a wonderful meal.

My American friend found the homemade chili con carne excellent. My vegetarian dishes were very good. Just sorry that there was only one on the main courses.
The servings were copious. In fact, I can easily say that it is the best pub meal we have ever had taking everything into consideration.
I understand that they have a dining room, but we prefered the pub itself.

I can recommend heartily! Just sorry it is too far from us to be our 'regular' as there was a wonderful atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank suzybazaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cosy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

If you are lucky to get a table you will enjoy great food. Slightly overpriced for pub lunches but it will always be good.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank LoulouStAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Proper Pub! With Good Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

All the buildings in the St Michaels area of St Albans are from the olde worlde, this pub is no different. You may be lucky and get a parking space in the small car park, which leads you to a rear entrance door. On entering the pub you are taken back the days of great pubs. Friendly welcome from the bar staff and good service. We ordered a different meal each and each one was good. Homecooking makes all the difference and sets apart the chain pubs with their frozen food and suspect ingredients. We really enjoyed our meal at The Six Bells and the atmosphere!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Downloader141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Six Bells also viewed

St. Albans, Hertfordshire
St. Albans, Hertfordshire
 
St. Albans, Hertfordshire
St. Albans, Hertfordshire
 
St. Albans, Hertfordshire
St. Albans, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Six Bells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing