We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (866)
Filter reviews
834 results
Traveler rating
498
288
37
8
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
498
288
37
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roman ruins feed the ducks tennis courts large lake outdoor gym ice cream vans open space crazy golf beach volleyball sports facilities splash pool bird life water birds children's playground waffle house duck pond lots of space
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 834 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago

With running space, football pitches, tennis courts, outdoor gym, children's play areas, cafe's, ice cream vans, public toilets (clean), trees - lots of trees, grass - lots of grass, a huge lake and good paths all round. What is not to like :)

Thank Richard I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

It a lovely park with old Roman building's and lake to walk around about 30min give or take, kids area with a tea room. And it big attraction is it has the oldest pub in England called ye old fighting cocks which me and nichola drank there after walking in the park lovely walk.

Thank justinl297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Bought some special food for the ducks. Had a leisurely stroll around the pond. Feed the ducks. Visited the ancient mosaic in the grounds. There's a pleasant little cafe providing light refreshments. The children are catered for with mini golf, trampoline and go karts. A lovely way to spend an afternoon with family or friends.

Thank alice502016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We loved this park, a place for nice walks, a large play area, acres of grass and a splash area. We had a great time there until we entered the splash park. Older children were there splashing each other using water bottles and scaring our toddler. When asked to let her approach the water fountain, we were insulted and splashed. No respect for other users at all. We saw a couple of other grown-ups being splashed repeatedly even though they had been told to stop. There was a young member of staff who didn't do anything. Such a shame for a beautiful place.

Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely place to take a walk in a clear sunny autumn day. Plenty of wildlife around with masses birds on the lakes, usually a heron or two around and plenty of squirrels to keep you entertained. Parking at either end and can grab refreshments at Inn on the Park.

Thank Pole2Pole_Images
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic park, easy parking, museum, Roman wall, mosaic (fabulous don’t miss it), restrooms. We loved our visit.

Thank Local_lass20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A pleasant walk through park as you go from one side of St Albans to the other, Cycling is strangely banned from the wide paths. There is a lake with Herons but little vegetation as the water looks dead and dirty. The stream beside one of the paths is similarly brackish but there are a lot of ducks and sea gulls. The water ways badly need treating and cleaning.

Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Our visit was worthy. We took a train from London to St Albans and in 24min we were in this lovely city, with a great street market in front of the town hall, friendly people everywhere, nice food, great pubs and beers. We walk around the town, have brunch at Beech’s, then had some sweet pastries/cakes at a food stall (highly recommend!), and afterwards we headed to the park. It is a nice 10min walk from the city centre. Cathedral is stunning, park is fantastic. We skipped the museum and went pub crawling. It was amazing. There are so many nice pubs serving local beers, with lovely decor. St Albans already holds a place in my heart.

Thank Juliana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018

This is a very quiet spot in St Albans away from all the traffic noise. It has the River Ver passing through on the north side with a large lake adjacent, lots of water fowl. Attractions in the park consist of a Museum dedicated to the Roman History of the city. Lots of hands-on for the kids. There is a Roman Hypocaust, the real thing and not to far away the Roman Theatre, fascinating.There is a good cafe and at the eastern end a pub, the Fighting Cocks, reckoned to be the oldest in England ? From here, if you hjaven't had to much lunch, you can walk up the hill to the Cathedral. Car parking can be difficult but there are two, one at the eastern end, access from St Michael;s village, and one at the western end, access from the bottom of Holywell Hill past the Sports arena and the Swimming Pool which has a cafe/restaurant.

1  Thank dandmclift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

Wide, green, with a beautiful little lake, this park is perfect to walk, be quiet and chill with friends or your familly. I was alone and it was very nice to enjoy the place this way too !

Thank Caroline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews