We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Singhli - CLOSED

Singhli
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: At 'Singhli', we aim to provide authentic, fresh and healthy Indian Street food. Small menu that delivers Homey, Rustic curry dishes. As Reviewers have commented,'Singhli' is not your typical 'Curry House'.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

We had diner at Singhli while we were staying one night in St Albans. I love India, love its food but not the "Indian fast food restaurants" we have in the UK! Well Singhli brought me back in Mumbai, Delhi, Jaipur, Kolkata and many more places! Forget about your classic chicken balti, onions baji, Bombay aloo... (Which I never had in India!) but welcome to the fantastic and REAL Indian food. It is delicious, succulent and to that day, I am still thinking of it. The owner is such a nice host who he will take the time to explain about his cuisine! Thank you for this delicious diner and I wish Singhli all the best!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sophie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    61
    18
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little gem ~ a must for a curry fan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Found it through internet as we wanted a change from our regular curry. It is a small restaurant with simple interior. We were cared for by the owner who was very helpful. Service was quick and staff friendly. Food was very different to regular curry houses. Menu is small but great choices within in it. Small tapas type dishes give you an opportunity to try more. It is prepared within sight and everything tastes wonderful not mouth burning just absolutely full of spicy flavours. Will be returning.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CeciliaS64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Albans, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly restaurant, excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We visited restaurant last night with friends who had visited before. Had a great selection of starters to share which were all delicious. Then three main courses, the chicken biryani was excellent and easily enough for two. It was a really nice experience unlike the usual Indian restaurant. We will be returning very soon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan12254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is a must if you love food that excites every taste bud! We were greeted by the owner who was very welcoming & helpful. We ordered 3 tapas starters & a filled roti, which is great, as it means you can try more of the wonderful food, all freshly prepared. & there are no additives. You can really taste the difference of all the spices. The main meal had a lot to live up to. We were not disappointed. This lovely little restaurant should be on your list of places to try. We will be back again. Just sad it's so far away!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank gah1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Extraordinarily Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Slipped in to try the place after getting great feedback from friends. Won't bore you with the details but everything we ordered was delicious. Don't delay, give it a try.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank J4me5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Singhli also viewed

St. Albans, Hertfordshire
St. Albans, Hertfordshire
 
London Colney, St. Albans
 
Flamstead, St. Albans
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing